BookBrowse Reviews Gold by Chris Cleave

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Gold
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2012, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2013, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa Guidarini

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

From the author of Little Bee comes the story of two world class athletes tested to their physical and emotional limits on the eve of the Olympics

How much would you be willing to sacrifice for a chance at achieving your life's dream? Would you be willing to destroy someone you love in the process?

For most of us the dream of achieving Olympic glory goes no further than wishful thinking. For the characters in Chris Cleave's Gold, however, Olympic success is more than just a daydream; it's almost assured. Jack, Kate and Zoe are world-class bicyclists who've trained all their adult lives for a shot at winning gold in the biggest competition there is. Jack – at the top of his field – is hoping to keep his top spot on the UK men's team, Kate and Zoe are looking for one on the women's. At the same time, there's a heated personal competition, pitting one friend against the other, as both women jockey to win Jack's love. It goes without saying that in both love and world-class competitions, there can be only one winner. ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Track Racing and the Velodrome

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.