BookBrowse Reviews Gold by Chris Cleave

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Gold by Chris Cleave X
Gold by Chris Cleave
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2012, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2013, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa Guidarini

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


From the author of Little Bee comes the story of two world class athletes tested to their physical and emotional limits on the eve of the Olympics

How much would you be willing to sacrifice for a chance at achieving your life's dream? Would you be willing to destroy someone you love in the process?

For most of us the dream of achieving Olympic glory goes no further than wishful thinking. For the characters in Chris Cleave's Gold, however, Olympic success is more than just a daydream; it's almost assured. Jack, Kate and Zoe are world-class bicyclists who've trained all their adult lives for a shot at winning gold in the biggest competition there is. Jack – at the top of his field – is hoping to keep his top spot on the UK men's team, Kate and Zoe are looking for one on the women's. At the same time, there's a heated personal competition, pitting one friend against the other, as both women jockey to win Jack's love. It goes without saying that in both love and world-class competitions, there can be only one winner.

Of course, not everyone dreams of Olympic gold. Whatever our dreams are – whether it's to live in Paris as an artist, or to become a successful executive at a large company, our eyes always have to remain on the prize. But what if life happens in the meantime, if one day you woke up the mother of an unplanned child – as Kate does in Gold? Does this derail all plans? Kate's story shows us it doesn't have to – it shows that fate, determination and the generosity of others play a huge role in the successful outcomes of the best-laid plans.

Chris Cleave's emphasis on relationships is at the heart of the book. His ability to make us care about his characters is his great strength. We may not always like the choices the characters make, but Cleave at least lets us see their motivations. Of course this doesn't necessarily absolve them of guilt but we at least begin to understand their actions and see the characters for who they are – flawed human beings.

Realizing we have limitations is a difficult lesson; almost without exception, it is painful and humbling. But it's something we're all forced to deal with – a rite of passage. Some of us will have bigger decisions to make than others but in the end it all comes down to one thing: how we deal with our own, flawed humanity. Gold shows us that the choices we make reflect the quality of our character, no matter where life leads.

Reviewed by Lisa Guidarini

This review was originally published in July 2012, and has been updated for the April 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Track Racing and the Velodrome

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.