BookBrowse Reviews The Cove by Ron Rash

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Cove

A Novel

by Ron Rash

The Cove
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2012, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2012, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa Guidarini

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A novel about love, hate and human isolation, set at the end of WWI in the Appalachian Mountains

It's possible that human nature can be distilled down to two basic elements: love and hatred, and the species would never have survived this long without their absolute balance. The setting for Ron Rash's The Cove - World War I, in the heart of the isolated, backwoods of Appalachia - provides a perfect medium for acting out human drama, pitting these two elements against each other.

When threatened, the townspeople of Mars Hill draw closer to what is theirs and to what feels familiar, while misfits and outcasts orbit outside. In this case, they've chosen to center their hatred on the obvious enemy - the Germans. But, as inevitably happens in times of war, innocents get caught up with the guilty. War is suffering, and not just on the battlefield. Rash makes this theme very plain through violence committed against regular people who suddenly have to justify themselves for not meshing ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Ron Rash - Poet and Novelist

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.