BookBrowse Reviews The Best Care Possible by Ira Byock

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Best Care Possible

A Physician's Quest to Transform Care Through the End of Life

by Ira Byock

The Best Care Possible by Ira Byock X
The Best Care Possible by Ira Byock
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2012, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2013, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jo Perry

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Dr. Ira Byock seeks to improve America's approach to death and dying by focusing on palliative care

If you are mortal or know someone who is, please read this hopeful primer on death and dying, pain and suffering, helplessness and responsibility, dignity, love, and life.

Through powerful and moving stories of his patients and friends, Dr. Ira Byock demonstrates how American attitudes toward death and current medical practices combine to isolate, humiliate, and inflict unnecessary pain and suffering upon the frail and the dying. Byock starts by diagnosing what ails the medical profession: a lack of training in end-of-life care, a focus on the pathology rather than the patient, and the proliferation of medical subspecialties, which, when patients are moved from one doctor to the next, fragments care. These practices push patients who would prefer to die in comfort and dignity at home into ICUs where they suffer the pain of unwanted and expensive medical procedures and are cut off from their helpless and frightened families.

Byock's specialty palliative care, seeks to change these practices by focusing on the easing of suffering and pain - for both the patient and for his loved ones: "Palliative care is an interdisciplinary team approach to care for people with life-threatening conditions, which addresses physical, emotional, social, and spiritual distress and seeks to improve the quality of life for the ill person and his or her family." This collaborative model treats the patient as a whole person and acknowledges the patient's values and wishes.

This team approach sounds expensive, but Byock repeatedly shows that palliative care teams (and hospice care) save money while profoundly improving quality of life for patients and their families. An example: It doesn't cost a thing for family members to bring photographs and music to the ICU. They comfort the patient and, importantly, help the medical staff get to know their patient, not just his or her disease.

Once palliative care doctors learn more about their charges, their teams determine how their patients would like to die. If a non-communicative patient has not prepared an advanced directive (and 75% of American adults have not), palliative care physicians meet with family members to determine the "goals of care." These goals can include anything from enlisting all available treatments to no treatment at all.

Byock recounts painful, angry and tragic meetings with confused and frightened families unaware of their loved one's wishes; they're so afraid of accepting the inevitable that they prolong useless, expensive and invasive treatments. But, Byock reminds the reader, no matter how much we avoid discussing it, "death is not optional." His stories of patients who died gently and well, and of the family members who helped them, show us that it is only when we accept mortality that we can, with our doctors' help, discover reasonable "goals of care." If not unlimited life, then quality of life for the remaining hours, days, weeks, months, or years.

Again, this "quality of care" sounds expensive but it saves money. Palliative care keeps seriously ill patients comfortable and as pain-free as possible and often allows them to remain at home where they can enjoy music, food, and the company of friends and pets. It also helps patients avoid treatments that prolong suffering and sometimes even shorten life, while guiding and supporting caregivers who are eager to demonstrate their love.

In this suspenseful, moving and indispensable book, Byock shares a great deal of important information: how palliative care and hospice care extend life rather than shorten it; why he thoroughly and adamantly opposes physician-assisted suicide; how families caring for frail and elderly relatives can advocate for them and help them remain independent and well; how to get the most from doctors' appointments; how to help a dying friend or relative; how a political movement to reform the way we die in America is overdue; and how medical professionals can love their patients.

I especially appreciate Byock's affectionate and optimistic view of human nature. He believes that caring for one another is essential to human character and that death, when done right, affirms love, heals loss and completes and enriches our lives:

Everyone dies of something. Every time a new complication develops, the doctors will assign it a name, giving you another diagnosis... Yet when someone's underlying illness is progressing or their general condition leaves them weak and with little chance of turning things around, every decision to treat a potentially lethal problem means the person will have to eventually succumb to something else. The question then becomes: What would be an acceptable way for you - or the person you love so much - to die.

Reviewed by Jo Perry

This review was originally published in April 2012, and has been updated for the March 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.