BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews Catherine the Great by Robert K. Massie

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Catherine the Great by Robert K. Massie

Catherine the Great

Portrait of a Woman

by Robert K. Massie
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  • First Published:
  • Nov 8, 2011
  • Paperback:
  • Sep 2012
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A narrative biography about one of history's most powerful women, from Pulitzer Prize-winner Robert K. Massie

If you're looking for the one book to pack in your carry-on bag for vacation, this is it. This biography of Catherine the Great from Robert Massie is a hefty volume, worthy of long road trips, quiet country vacations, and weekends dedicated to getting lost in a book. The 574 pages benefit from wide swaths of time that can be spent appreciating this long, complex life story. I was able to read this book while on winter break between semesters and was grateful for a period of (mostly) uninterrupted calm to appreciate the breadth of this biography.

Despite its length and scrupulous detail, Massie's biography does not flag and become overly didactic or formulaic; he appears intent on following every action of Catherine's life, regardless of how small, and on showing these subtle details in the larger scope of her sociopolitical power. He carefully explains and analyzes memoirs, letters, and political essays from both Catherine and her contemporaries and demonstrates a literary critic's knack for extracting meaning from single phrases or words. In doing so, he creates a dramatic tension that is as good as any novel.

Occasionally, however, he incorporates quotations without clear attribution of a source, which is a bit mysterious, but mostly annoying. In spite of these small inconveniences, Massie's writing is consistently clear, unobtrusive, and does not interfere with Catherine's personal story. If anything, his tone matches the grandeur of her life, written with bold, eloquent phrases. Although Massie has a remarkable academic background - he studied at Yale and was a Rhodes scholar at Oxford - this biography is not written exclusively for a scholarly audience and will appeal to a wide audience.

The subtitle of this biography is Portrait of a Woman, and Massie makes her humanity very clear. While there are plenty of biographies that chronicle the political lives of eighteenth century Russian aristocracy, few labor to uncover the private, personal lives of those individuals. Perhaps what is most notable about Massie's biography is that it balances Catherine's inner, private life with her public image and actions, and shows how those two roles are closely connected. This linking of what is private and what is political dredges up thoughts about how modern political figures attempt, if at all, to separate the affairs of their personal and professional lives. And though Massie does not directly discuss the ethics of these links, he makes it clear that they are, nevertheless, a vital component of Catherine's life, which is motivated by both personal desires and political clout.

Massie's version of Catherine shows readers a woman who was ambitious, literary, and genuinely admirable. Having sustained a long interest in the life of Catherine's contemporary, Marie Antoinette, I was excited to see a biography of an eighteenth century female political figure receive strong publicity. Like Marie Antoinette, Catherine the Great's reputation has been obscured by a fair amount of rumors and myth. It's refreshing to see a new interest in re-examining how her life influenced both Russia and Europe. I hope that as Antonia Fraser's Marie Antoinette led to a greater appreciation for Antoinette's role in history, so too will Massie's biography aid in developing a clearer, stronger collective memory of Catherine the Great.

Additional Info
To hear Robert K. Massie talk about the life of Catherine the Great, click on NPR's Weekend Edition feature entitled "Catherine the Great: First She Read, Then She Ruled".

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in February 2012, and has been updated for the September 2012 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Catherine the Great, try these:

  • Liberty Equality Fashion jacket

    Liberty Equality Fashion

    by Anne Higonnet

    Published 2024

    About This book

    Three women led a fashion revolution and turned themselves into international style celebrities.

  • In the Shadow of the Empress jacket

    In the Shadow of the Empress

    by Nancy Goldstone

    Published 2022

    About This book

    The vibrant, sprawling saga of Empress Maria Theresa - one of the most renowned women rulers in history - and three of her extraordinary daughters, including Marie Antoinette, the doomed queen of France.

We have 11 read-alikes for Catherine the Great, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman and a Thief
    A Gentleman and a Thief
    by Dean Jobb
    In the Roaring Twenties—an era known for its flash and glamour as well as its gangsters and ...
  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Book Jacket
Lady Tan's Circle of Women
by Lisa See
Lisa See's latest historical novel, inspired by the true story of a woman physician from 15th-century China.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Win This Book
Win Smothermoss

Smothermoss by Alisa Alering

A haunting, imaginative, and twisting tale of two sisters and the menacing, unexplained forces that threaten them and their rural mountain community.

Enter

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.