BookBrowse Reviews The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Sense of an Ending

A Novel

by Julian Barnes

The Sense of an Ending
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2011, 176 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2012, 144 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Morgan Macgregor

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Winner of the 2011 Man Booker Prize, a compelling novel about middle age and re-evaluating one's place in life

I work in a bookstore. I say this first because I think it's important for the reader to know where I'm coming from: I talk about books all day; customers count on employees to know their stuff and to be able to engage with them about what's new and good. Most often, I talk with them about books I've never read (you can't read them all), relying on hearsay and reviews to educate me on the finer points of a book's readability. And sometimes, I just wing it.

One of the novels I sold most this holiday season, and one of the books that's sparked the greatest amount of water cooler talk around the store, is the 2011 Man Booker Award winner, Julian Barnes's The Sense of An Ending. It's a slim novel, 176 pages in length, and I read it in one sitting. Yet oddly, I have a harder time talking about it than I do books I haven't read, or books I've enjoyed less.

Tony Webster is 60ish years ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Unreliable Narrator

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.