MLA Platinum Award Press Release

BookBrowse Reviews Bright and Distant Shores by Dominic Smith

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Bright and Distant Shores

A Novel

by Dominic Smith

Bright and Distant Shores by Dominic Smith X
Bright and Distant Shores by Dominic Smith
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Sep 2011, 480 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Beverly Melven
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A sweeping historical novel set amid the skyscrapers of 1890s Chicago and the far-flung islands of the South Pacific

Bright and Distant Shores fits well into the tradition of travel narratives, where cultures clash and moral ambiguity is the order of the day. Lives and fortunes are risked, the innocent come to knowledge, and everyone discovers more about themselves than they do about the 'other' they go looking for. Smith does a good job of building a compelling narrative while feeding our desire for the bizarre and fascinating.

I was impressed with how Smith keeps the language and setting to the period without being preachy or overly descriptive - a common problem with historical fiction. Historical people and events are sprinkled in while the characters live out the plot and further the story, so it works well and doesn't feel like a class lecture.

The best part of Bright and Distant Shores is the interplay between the different points of view - often striking in their differences, sometimes even more striking in their similarities. We see the events of the book through three main characters - Owen, the American orphan who needs this trip to make his fortune; Jethro, the over-educated heir of a self-made millionaire; and Argus, a Southeast Asian orphan who's been exposed to the culture of the West and can't go home again. We also get glimpses from many of the minor characters, such as the ship's captain, the insurance magnate, Owen's future wife, and Argus's sister, Malini.

When these lives and ambitions come crashing together, the results are, thankfully, less predictable than you would imagine. This kind of novel often comes out as derivative and formulaic, but Smith does a good job avoiding this problem, mostly by giving us depth in virtually every character we encounter. The wife who is too good for Owen is a feminist and a working girl. The "foreigner-native" (a person born in the US but who spends a great deal of time in foreign countries) is more respected by the all-white ship's crew than the Ivy League rich boy. The moral failings of all of them are on display - no noble savages or enlightened Westerners to be found once we scratch the surface. Most importantly, Owen and Argus carry almost equal weight in the plot and narrative - each has his story told in full, each is an active agent in what happens in his own life, and each of them pays the consequences for his own choices - not just the choices made for him.

The story is compelling, with plenty of surprises along the way. I would have liked to see more from the point of view of Adelaide and Malini, but the book is already 467 pages, and the focus on the three young men keeps the narrative from wandering too much. Bright and Distant Shores is the perfect novel for someone who likes a rich and suspenseful story that doesn't involve murder mysteries or private detectives.

Reviewed by Beverly Melven

This review is from the Bright and Distant Shores. It first ran in the November 17, 2011 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Bear
    The Bear
    by Andrew Krivak
    The Bear feels like a novel I've been awaiting for years. I received the book and its message with ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...
  • Book Jacket: Race Against Time
    Race Against Time
    by Jerry Mitchell
    Jerry Mitchell spent nearly three decades trailing cold cases from the Civil Rights Movement. As a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Resisters
    The Resisters
    by Gish Jen
    Gish Jen's The Resisters depicts a future United States, dubbed AutoAmerica, where climate change ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Mountains Sing
    by Nguyen Phan Que Mai

    An enveloping, multigenerational tale set against the backdrop of the Viet Nam War.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    I Want You to Know We're Still Here
    by Esther Safran Foer

    "A vivid testimony to the power of memory."
    - Kirkus (starred review)
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Mostly Dead Things

Mostly Dead Things
by Kristen Arnett

"Hilarious, deeply morbid, and full of heart."
- BuzzFeed

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T Die I C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.