BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos

Dead End in Norvelt

by Jack Gantos
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  • First Published:
  • Sep 13, 2011
  • Paperback:
  • May 2013
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A funny and historically steeped story about one boy's unusual summer, writing obituaries

The two best things about Jack Gantos's grotesque, tragicomic, and nostalgic Dead End in Norvelt are its lively young narrator, Jack Gantos, and Norvelt, his town - a New Deal homestead community on the skids in Pennsylvania (see sidebar). The summer of 1962 filtered through Jack's psyche (and registered by his emotional-barometer/lie-detector bleeding nose) is sad, funny, and unforgettable.

Grounded for the summer, Jack's adventure begins when his mother "loans" him to Miss Volker, an elderly neighbor in need. Miss Volker's arthritic hands no longer permit her to type the obituaries she writes for the Norvelt News: "When Mrs. Roosevelt hired me to be the chief nurse and medical examiner of this town I was given a typewriter so I could keep health records on the original two hundred and fifty families. Now it's my closing tribute to Mrs. Roosevelt that I write their final health report - which, in this case, would be their obituary..."

A quick learner and an avid student of history, Jack becomes Miss Volker's friend, scribe, and protégé:

"You need to know the history of this town because if it dies out someone will have to be around to write the obit."

"How does a town die?" I asked.

"One old person at a time," she said deliberately.

This slapstick novel is full of death. Miss Volker has Jack, in his Grim Reaper Halloween costume, break into a woman's house to see if she is still among the living. (She politely asks "the Grim Reaper" to return in two weeks). Jack's best friend, whose father owns the town's funeral home, delights in clacking together a set of dentures he's lifted from a corpse. On a hunting trip, Jack hilariously prevents his father from shooting a deer he can't bear to see killed, but later a wounded doe staggers to Jack's house and dies. When a cement truck kills a Hell's Angel having a seizure ("Like tattooed roadkill only with a long black beard on one end and crushed black boots on the other..."), his gang sets Norvelt's houses on fire, burning an original homestead to the ground. And Jack gathers the dead mice Miss Volker poisons in her basement as, one after another, Norvelt's old women die. For me, these memento mori intensify Jack's innocent good nature and elevate Miss Volker to the status of doomed heroine (with Jack as her knight) in a battle against Time, Forgetfulness, and Oblivion.

Jack accompanies Miss Volker on her official, unsentimental visits to the Norvelt dead, and it is only when she dictates a death notice that she becomes emotional - even rhapsodic. Her obituaries transfigure death into something beautiful and important, the crowning event in a life of love, joy, idiosyncrasy, and work. The effort leaves Jack's fingers sore from typing and Miss Volker wrung dry and absolutely depleted. It is not easy to discharge this sacred responsibility, to honor her debt to Eleanor Roosevelt, and to rescue Norvelt history from the grave. And until his stint with Miss Volker, Jack's often-bleeding nose betrays his helplessness against the force of his emotions. But ultimately he finds his voice and his power.

Young readers will find Jack authentic and funny - especially his embarrassing nose. What will they make of the utopian community's history or the frequent references to Eleanor Roosevelt? I don't know. But Gantos's obit to Norvelt is too real and too interesting for that to matter much.

Reviewed by Jo Perry

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in November 2011, and has been updated for the May 2013 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Welcome to Norvelt, PA

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Dead End in Norvelt, try these:

  • The Golden Day jacket

    The Golden Day

    by Ursula Dubosarsky

    Published 2015

    About This book

    When their teacher goes missing during an outing, eleven girls grapple with the aftermath in this haunting, exquisitely told psychological mystery.

  • Paperboy jacket

    Paperboy

    by Vince Vawter

    Published 2014

    About This book

    For fans of To Kill a Mockingbird, The King's Speech, and The Help. A boy who stutters comes-of-age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life.

We have 7 read-alikes for Dead End in Norvelt, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Jack Gantos
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman and a Thief
    A Gentleman and a Thief
    by Dean Jobb
    In the Roaring Twenties—an era known for its flash and glamour as well as its gangsters and ...
  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Book Jacket
Lady Tan's Circle of Women
by Lisa See
Lisa See's latest historical novel, inspired by the true story of a woman physician from 15th-century China.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Win This Book
Win Smothermoss

Smothermoss by Alisa Alering

A haunting, imaginative, and twisting tale of two sisters and the menacing, unexplained forces that threaten them and their rural mountain community.

Enter

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.