BookBrowse Reviews The Unforgotten Coat by Frank Cottrell Boyce

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Unforgotten Coat

by Frank Cottrell Boyce

The Unforgotten Coat
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Sep 2011, 112 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A unique story of immigration, both fierce in its telling and magical in its characters

Picture a blue cloth-covered journal, filled with typical lined notebook paper and a handful of Polaroid photographs stuck inside. The journal looks old and worn, some of the pages appear to be creased and wrinkled, and the photos are yellowed and watermarked at their edges. This is The Unforgotten Coat - a clever, creative new book by Frank Cottrell Boyce with a funny and heartwarming story bursting from inside its covers.

And the story? It is memorable. Julie, who narrates as an adult looking back, says so right from the start. She says of a photograph on the first page: "I hadn't seen this... since the day it was taken, until now. Even so, I can tell you anything you want to know about it." And then Julie proceeds to explain the photo and, of course, so much more. Chingis, a boy from Mongolia, took the photograph. He and his little brother, Nergui, had come to Bootle, a suburb of ...

Additional Info
Frank Cottrell Boyce has written several children's books, including Millions, winner of the Carnegie Medal, and Cosmic - both of which have been turned into films. He lives in England with his family.

Carl Hunter and Clare Heney, the illustrators of The Unforgotten Coat, are both filmmakers who have partnered on a number of short films, including an adaptation of Frank Cottrell Boyce's short story "Accelerate." They live in England.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Reader Organisation

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.