MLA Platinum Award Press Release

BookBrowse Reviews Zone One by Colson Whitehead

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Zone One

A Novel

by Colson Whitehead

Zone One by Colson Whitehead X
Zone One by Colson Whitehead
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2011, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2012, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa Guidarini
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A highly literary, humorous, and richly sensuous novel that reflects on the irony of fate in post-apocalyptic Manhattan

As a child, "Mark Spitz" (the ironic nickname of the otherwise unnamed main character who can't swim) dreamed of living in Manhattan, captivated by the bright lights and soaring buildings of his family's visits to his Uncle Lloyd. Ultimately, he does make it to New York City but not in the way he imagined he would. Instead of a modern luxury apartment, his home is "Fort Wonton" in former Chinatown; rather than a career as a lawyer, his profession involves killing undead stragglers left after a first pass by the military. This is not the stuff of childhood dreams. It's nightmarish. And Spitz's childhood love of monster movies adds yet another layer of irony to his fate as a zombie hunter.

Colson Whitehead's post-apocalyptic, dystopian zombie novel is a complex mix of mischievous irony and grotesque imagery, sprinkled with violence, alternating hope and desperation. It isn't a work easily defined by any one genre. On the surface it's a tale of survival in a world taken over by zombies that eat and infect those who stumble across their paths versus those who battle to take back the world.

Delving more deeply, it becomes apparent Whitehead takes particular pleasure in playing with his readers. This masterful, award-winning writer tells jokes with such a straight face it's disarming. His humor is dry, so understated it takes the reader aback wondering what his intention really is. The answer? He's flexing an extremely well developed writing muscle, pulling off a very difficult, advanced style, producing a multi-layered novel of slyly deceptive depth.

Ludicrous details like a former porn star becoming the head of what's left of Italy, distributing glamour girl shots of herself to raise morale like some post-apocalyptic Rita Hayworth, showcase the author's wry wit. During the initial horror and pandemonium - the government claiming the whole thing was an isolated terror attack - commuters become alarmed, not when police cars surround their train, but when they start losing internet connectivity. No wonder the hopeful term for eventually restarting the world is referred to as a "reboot."

Whitehead is in his element poking fun at modern life, particularly adept at getting in subtle digs without crossing the line into parody or overt sarcasm. But it isn't all social satire. The story is also poignant, and there are occasional moments of tenderness. Each survivor carries a "Last Night" story, a memory of the final moments of blessed ignorance before the world fell apart and the extent of the horror became clear. As they share their stories, so does Whitehead expand the depth of character development; he compares and contrasts the experiences of those from different walks of life, thrown together by universal pandemic.

The result is a cross-section of Americans battling a cross-section of the undead: the half-crazed, uninfected are barricaded in bunkers of their own making, and they shoot at anyone who comes near - friendly or not; the zombie "skels," are actively attacking and spreading the disease; and the horribly sad, doomed, and soulless infected, go through their last motions over and over, unaware they're even dead.

Zone One may not be Whitehead's finest novel, but it's a satisfying, riveting read. The beautifully long, descriptive sentences are richly sensuous, and the languid plot is driven by characters rendered life-like through the author's choice of third-person omniscient narration. Those in love with the written word will most appreciate Whitehead's magic. Lovers of zombie genre novels may find it less appealing. It's a story to be savored slowly, melting on the tongue like fine chocolate. While not a masterpiece, Zone One is a distinct cut above the average and an impressively multi-layered novel that is well deserving of praise.

Reviewed by Lisa Guidarini

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in October 2011, and has been updated for the July 2012 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Zombies in Literature

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for ...
  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...
  • Book Jacket
    Girl, Woman, Other
    by Bernardine Evaristo
    As we meet Amma, a 50-something playwright finally experiencing mainstream success in Bernardine ...
  • Book Jacket: The Revisioners
    The Revisioners
    by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
    The chapters of Margaret Wilkerson Sexton's second novel, The Revisioners, alternate between three ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Lost Man
by Jane Harper

"Strong characters, riveting plot and an honest look at life in the Australian outback make it easy to give this 5-stars!"
—BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Lady Clementine
    by Marie Benedict

    An illuminating look at one of history's most unusual and extraordinary women, Clementine Churchill.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.