BookBrowse Reviews The Mostly True Story of Jack by Kelly Barnhill

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Mostly True Story of Jack

by Kelly Barnhill

The Mostly True Story of Jack
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2011, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2012, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A creepy tale filled with magic and friendship about finding a place to belong, ages 9+

The Mostly True Story of Jack is downright creepy. Something very evil is lurking just beneath the surface in the small town of Hazelwood, Iowa. Literally beneath the surface - under the cornfields, under the local school, under the forest, and under the houses where Hazelwood's residents try to live normal lives. And this evil thing has come up out of the landscape before. Fourteen-year-old Frankie, and his twin sister Wendy, know this. Frankie was abducted six years earlier and came home scarred and silent. No one knows exactly what happened or why. But Frankie, Wendy, and their friend, Anders, have a strong sense that it was this sinister under-the-ground thing that is to blame.

Jack has been sent to live with his eccentric uncle and aunt in this strange and eerie town. He has spent most of his childhood feeling invisible and alone, but when he gets to Hazelwood, everyone - and ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.