BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews A Moment in the Sun by John Sayles

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Moment in the Sun by John Sayles

A Moment in the Sun

by John Sayles
  • BookBrowse Review:
  • Critics' Consensus:
  • First Published:
  • May 17, 2011
  • Paperback:
  • Feb 2012
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Historical Fiction: A turn of the 20th century epic novel

I surrender. To explain in a few paragraphs a story that ranges from the frozen gold fields of the Yukon to the yellow fever swelter of Cuban hillsides, from the racial turmoil of post-Reconstruction North Carolina to the most humble, remote village in the Philippines, is a fool's errand. So let me dispense with any attempt at summary and cut straight to the chase - if an unrelenting commitment to showing action as it unfolds in vivid (and even painful) detail excites you, read John Sayles's novel. He had me hooked by page ten, following the hopeless greenhorn Hod Brackenridge up a death-defying slope in the Alaskan wilderness. What kept me interested through the nearly 1,000 pages that followed was Sayles's uncanny ability to find complexity in all of his characters, revealing the conflicted motives that drive them to pursue their desires.

If there is one unifying theme of the book, it is just that - the complexity of human desire. The pages are replete with love, lust, and greed, but rather than being simply described, emotions are brought to life by the characters' actions. There is the young black soldier ready to die for the love of a girl whose superior social class puts her beyond his reach; the crippled son of a southern magistrate, entranced by the young technology of the moving image; and the educated son of a Filipino land owner who turns from aspiring priest to committed revolutionary, and a dozen or so more. Each story is told in electrifying detail and each marked by the ambivalence and contradiction that make human actions so hard to make sense of.

Of course these are not unrelated tales. They are brought together not only by the coincidences that link the characters in space and time, but by the defining presence of the historical moment. While the action moves from imperialist adventures in far flung lands to domestic conflicts over race and class, there is a constant sense of history being written, drawn, and filmed as it unfolds. Contemporary story tellers, Mark Twain and Joseph Pulitzer included, form a secondary group of characters - not quite at the heart of the action, but not just along for the ride either.

The epic scope of the novel does become unwieldy in places, detracting somewhat from the potent tension that shoots through most of the narrative. But the creative imagination behind such a wild, wide ranging work is less concerned with perfection than with raw energy. This Sayles provides, in copious amounts, and his readers are the better for it.

Additional Information
John Sayles spent years researching the turn-of-the-century world of A Moment in the Sun. Click here to see some of the photos that helped shape each chapter and to read John's notes on some of the historical details that crop up in the text. For more information on the books John consulted, click on his extended bibliography.

Reviewed by Micah Gell-Redman

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in September 2011, and has been updated for the March 2012 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Coxey's Army

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked A Moment in the Sun, try these:

We have 9 read-alikes for A Moment in the Sun, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Bury Your Gays
    Bury Your Gays
    by Chuck Tingle
    Chuck Tingle, for those who don't know, is the pseudonym of an eccentric writer best known for his ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Ruin
    Blue Ruin
    by Hari Kunzru
    Like Red Pill and White Tears, the first two novels in Hari Kunzru's loosely connected Three-...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman and a Thief
    A Gentleman and a Thief
    by Dean Jobb
    In the Roaring Twenties—an era known for its flash and glamour as well as its gangsters and ...
  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Lady Tan's Circle of Women
by Lisa See
Lisa See's latest historical novel, inspired by the true story of a woman physician from 15th-century China.
Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Win This Book
Win Smothermoss

Smothermoss by Alisa Alering

A haunting, imaginative, and twisting tale of two sisters and the menacing, unexplained forces that threaten them and their rural mountain community.

Enter

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.