BookBrowse Reviews A Moment in the Sun by John Sayles

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Moment in the Sun

by John Sayles

A Moment in the Sun by John Sayles X
A Moment in the Sun by John Sayles
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2011, 968 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2012, 968 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Micah Gell-Redman
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Historical Fiction: A turn of the 20th century epic novel

I surrender. To explain in a few paragraphs a story that ranges from the frozen gold fields of the Yukon to the yellow fever swelter of Cuban hillsides, from the racial turmoil of post-Reconstruction North Carolina to the most humble, remote village in the Philippines, is a fool's errand. So let me dispense with any attempt at summary and cut straight to the chase - if an unrelenting commitment to showing action as it unfolds in vivid (and even painful) detail excites you, read John Sayles's novel. He had me hooked by page ten, following the hopeless greenhorn Hod Brackenridge up a death-defying slope in the Alaskan wilderness. What kept me interested through the nearly 1,000 pages that followed was Sayles's uncanny ability to find complexity in all of his characters, revealing the conflicted motives that drive them to pursue their desires.

If there is one unifying theme of the book, it is just that - the complexity of human desire. The pages are replete with love, lust, and greed, but rather than being simply described, emotions are brought to life by the characters' actions. There is the young black soldier ready to die for the love of a girl whose superior social class puts her beyond his reach; the crippled son of a southern magistrate, entranced by the young technology of the moving image; and the educated son of a Filipino land owner who turns from aspiring priest to committed revolutionary, and a dozen or so more. Each story is told in electrifying detail and each marked by the ambivalence and contradiction that make human actions so hard to make sense of.

Of course these are not unrelated tales. They are brought together not only by the coincidences that link the characters in space and time, but by the defining presence of the historical moment. While the action moves from imperialist adventures in far flung lands to domestic conflicts over race and class, there is a constant sense of history being written, drawn, and filmed as it unfolds. Contemporary story tellers, Mark Twain and Joseph Pulitzer included, form a secondary group of characters - not quite at the heart of the action, but not just along for the ride either.

The epic scope of the novel does become unwieldy in places, detracting somewhat from the potent tension that shoots through most of the narrative. But the creative imagination behind such a wild, wide ranging work is less concerned with perfection than with raw energy. This Sayles provides, in copious amounts, and his readers are the better for it.

Additional Information
John Sayles spent years researching the turn-of-the-century world of A Moment in the Sun. Click here to see some of the photos that helped shape each chapter and to read John's notes on some of the historical details that crop up in the text. For more information on the books John consulted, click on his extended bibliography.

Reviewed by Micah Gell-Redman

This review was originally published in September 2011, and has been updated for the February 2012 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Coxey's Army

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

A masterpiece of storytelling, and a 2018 Oprah's Book Club Selection.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.