BookBrowse Reviews No Biking in the House Without a Helmet by Melissa Fay Greene

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

No Biking in the House Without a Helmet

by Melissa Fay Greene

No Biking in the House Without a Helmet
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2011, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2012, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jennifer G Wilder

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Memoir: Celebrating diverse families and international adoption

Don't be fooled by the goofy title of Melissa Fay Greene's memoir No Biking in the House Without a Helmet; this book ought to come with a "Tissue Advisory" label affixed to its cover. Warning: there will be tears.

Perhaps Greene was paying homage to Erma Bombeck when she chose the title; the "hassled mother" humor book has had a long and robust history, peopled by the likes of Jeanne Kerr (Please Don't Eat the Daisies), and Shirley Jackson (Life Among the Savages). But what Greene describes in her account of adopting five international children as her four biological children began to leave the nest is hard-hitting, riveting, emotional stuff. She explores the family dynamics that lead to interest in adoption, the changes adoption brings on parents and children alike, and the glue - call it family culture or family values - that holds them all together as the clan grows and ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Books of Melissa Fay Greene

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.