BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews Vaclav & Lena by Haley Tanner

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Vaclav & Lena by Haley Tanner

Vaclav & Lena

A Novel

by Haley Tanner
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  • First Published:
  • May 17, 2011
  • Paperback:
  • Feb 2012
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An endearing novel about two young friends and the bond that survives one's mysterious disappearance

I have fallen in love with Vaclav & Lena. I say this not for a lack of something more insightful, but because Haley Tanner's debut novel is simply so lovable. Her characters, quirky and vivid, are presented with the right mix of vulnerability and spunkiness, which quickly endears them to the reader. Upon finishing the novel, I was left feeling as though I had met good people - all flawed in some way and all full of good intentions. The last time I felt this way was while reading Helen Simonson's Major Pettigrew's Last Stand (also a brilliant debut novel), and like Pettigrew, Tanner's novel contains a realistic, character-driven narrative.

Vaclav & Lena is also reminiscent of the widely acclaimed Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen; both are steeped in the ritz and charm of magic shows and circuses, but their distinction lies in how the two authors approach these similar themes. Vaclav & Lena thrusts the reader into the quirky, somewhat dark lives of immigrant children who dream of escaping reality to join the circus, whereas the characters in Water for Elephants actually do live in the fantasy of the big top. So if you are intrigued by stories about realistic people who you can imagine as your own neighbors or friends, Vaclav & Lena is sure to delight.

Tanner's ear for language is demonstrated through her rendering of the broken English and awkward diction that perpetuates the Russian immigrant community where the novel takes place. Her characters speak using delicate turns of phrase and gently bent syntax, which gives just enough flavor to make the voices distinct without being overdone. The accents notably shift and change as the characters - some of whom enter the story quite young - mature and change.

As Vaclav and Lena's lives progress and intertwine in ways they do not expect, the reader is compelled to continue turning pages out of care for the titular characters, as well as the supporting cast. The story includes big dreams, terrible events, and long-kept secrets, and the novel's plot progresses at a smooth, even clip.

Tanner's knack for detail carries over into the rest of the story, and serves her well, whether she's describing the family's fragrant borscht dinner or the sunny, salty boardwalk on Coney Island. The novel is marketed as a love story, but Vaclav & Lena goes beyond the simplicity of a one-dimensional romance. Tanner's debut novel is as much about a time period, a neighborhood, different generations, and an immigrant culture as it is about the relationship between a boy and a girl.

But more than the fine qualities already mentioned, my deepest admiration for Vaclav & Lena is owed to the novel's conclusion, which I won't reveal here, but suffice to say that it ties together magic, storytelling, and love. The process of reading toward this ending is a true pleasure, though it's easy to fall in love with Vaclav & Lena in the first few pages as well.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in May 2011, and has been updated for the February 2012 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Coney Island

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Vaclav & Lena, try these:

  • Normal People jacket

    Normal People

    by Sally Rooney

    Published 2020

    About This book

    More by this author

    A wondrous and wise coming-of-age love story from the celebrated author of Conversations with Friends

  • The Night Circus jacket

    The Night Circus

    by Erin Morgenstern

    Published 2012

    About This book

    More by this author

    The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night...

We have 7 read-alikes for Vaclav & Lena, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman and a Thief
    A Gentleman and a Thief
    by Dean Jobb
    In the Roaring Twenties—an era known for its flash and glamour as well as its gangsters and ...
  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Lady Tan's Circle of Women
by Lisa See
Lisa See's latest historical novel, inspired by the true story of a woman physician from 15th-century China.
Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Win This Book
Win Smothermoss

Smothermoss by Alisa Alering

A haunting, imaginative, and twisting tale of two sisters and the menacing, unexplained forces that threaten them and their rural mountain community.

Enter

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.