BookBrowse Reviews Blood, Bones & Butter by Gabrielle Hamilton

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Blood, Bones & Butter

The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef

by Gabrielle Hamilton

Blood, Bones & Butter by Gabrielle Hamilton X
Blood, Bones & Butter by Gabrielle Hamilton
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2011, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2012, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Megan Shaffer

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Memoir: The life of a New York City chef

Readers beware - Chef Gabrielle Hamilton's memoir, Blood, Bones & Butter, is smoking hot! Serving it up raw and gritty, Hamilton is absolutely fearless as she narrates the chapters of her life. From her idyllic childhood as a girl in rural Pennsylvania, to the tough renegade chef presently rocking New York City's East Village, Hamilton dishes it out from page one with her edgy literary style.

The "blood" of the book's title refers to her family, and Hamilton firmly establishes her ties to both her parents and her four older siblings who, together, "ran in a pack - like wild dogs." As a child, Hamilton was captivated by her artistic parents and drank them in in great, awe-filled gulps. "My parents seemed incredibly special and outrageously handsome to me then. I could not have boasted of them more or said my name, first and last together, more proudly, to show how it directly linked me to them. I loved that our mother was French... that she had been a ballet dancer at the Met in New York City when she married my father."

She tenderly takes her time to lay out the foundation that both forms Gabrielle as a child and shatters Hamilton as an adult. She warmly observes and absorbs the discerning cooking style of her mother, and from her father "learn[s] how to create beauty where none exists, how to be generous beyond our means, how to change a small corner of the world just by making a little dinner for a few friends." Through the simple joy of recalling childhood memories, Hamilton establishes her family bond, and no event makes a deeper impression on young Gabrielle than that of her father's legendary annual lamb-roast. It is in this magical "feast" for hundreds of friends from "as far away as the townhouses of New York City" that Hamilton's familial and culinary sensibilities become inextricably bound.

When Hamilton's parents suddenly split up, Gabrielle is left alone amidst the broken bones of her family. Cash-strapped and a mere thirteen-years-old, she begins to work the only way she knows how. Hamilton grinds her way through kitchen after kitchen from New York to Ann Arbor, through Europe, and back again. And ultimately, the all-nighters, crusty floors, endless prepping, and the sordid yet seductive world of food all serve to sharpen her artistic skills and caustic wit.

Blood, Bones & Butter is not just for foodies. Though you will find seasoned passages on "ceviche and Israeli couscous and mushroom duxelle and robiola cheese" among others to relish, they merely serve to strengthen and fortify Hamilton's solid story threads. Be warned, however, that Hamilton writes like a rock star; her style is not for the faint of heart and she makes no apologies for who she is. Her smacking, straight-up honesty is highly acidic and a bit hard to take at times, but every page holds a killer quote and Hamilton's hard-core intensity is intoxicating. Blood, Bones & Butter has serious moxie driven by the love and language of all things culinary, and its promise of family, friendship, and food is sure to please.

Reviewed by Megan Shaffer

This review was originally published in March 2011, and has been updated for the January 2012 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.