BookBrowse Reviews The Golden Mean by Annabel Lyon

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Golden Mean

by Annabel Lyon

The Golden Mean by Annabel Lyon X
The Golden Mean by Annabel Lyon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2010, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2011, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Aristotle and a young Alexander the Great come to life in this fictional reimagining

While reading this novel, I was taken aback at how little I knew about Aristotle's early life. Annabel Lyon fills in this gap by fleshing out the few facts we have, showing his childhood and education in flashbacks, including his first meeting with Phillip (later to become king of Macedon). This past friendship explains why Phillip sends for Aristotle - at the time a struggling philosopher eager to return to Athens and Plato's Academy - to tutor Phillip's son Alexander. For the first time, I really got a sense of Aristotle as a human being and not just an immense intellect driven by ambitions, resentments, and sometimes contradictory impulses.

Lyon gives The Golden Mean a sense of immediacy by using contemporary style and language. Except for certain ceremonial occasions, the characters speak in informal, present-day English. In fact, the language can get rather explicit at times, with swear words and sexual references casually tossed about. There are also a handful of graphic scenes, involving the aftermath of war and physically intimate moments between Aristotle and his wife. I wasn't expecting to find such earthiness in a historical novel featuring an ancient philosopher, and it took some getting used to. But in the context of the ancient culture Lyon depicts, such scenes actually feel quite natural. I was impressed at how the language helps to make such a foreign time and place seem so familiar; there were times I forgot it was set during an ancient period.

I found myself rooting for Alexander, as his situation is the most complicated of all the characters. While he may be next in line to inherit the throne, he's also a teenage boy, subject to mood swings and acts of rebellion. At times he's truly frightening, but he's also a typical teenager, making his fellow students laugh at fart jokes. He has to be exceedingly careful in everything he does. For instance, he truly wants to learn from Aristotle, but has to appear bored while in front of the other pupils, for fear that they'll resent his enthusiasm for knowledge. He loves his mother, Olympia, but she's not in favor with Phillip or his other wives, so he has to limit how much affection he shows her, in case his father starts to suspect his loyalties. Lyon shows Alexander as a boy forced to grow up far too quickly, and take up adult responsibilities in order to survive.

Alexander the Great
Alexander fighting the Persian king Darius III. From the Alexander Mosaic, Pompeii, now located in the Naples National Archaeological Museum (click for full mosaic)

Aristotle genuinely cares for Alexander, and enjoys teaching the boy, even as he struggles with the difficulties of his own position. He's an exile, caught between the political and military struggles of Greece and Macedon. The Greeks think he's too barbarian and too friendly with Phillip to even enter Plato's Academy, let alone run it, while the Macedonians taunt him for being too Greek and intellectual*. Even his friendship with Phillip doesn't offer much protection, as the king is usually away fighting battles and negotiating treaties. I was fascinated by the way these two speak to each other, friendly and familiar to a point, but mindful that one of them is a king and the other his subject.

Readers of historical fiction will enjoy The Golden Mean, drawn in by the prospect of learning more about the early lives of Aristotle and Alexander. Even readers not interested in ancient history will find the richly complex characters and situations engaging, as the story could almost take place in the present. All necessary background information is given in the novel, so readers do not need any prior knowledge. The novel drops hints about the greatness these two historical figures will each achieve, but Lyon captures them before that moment, while they're still forming, and while their successes are far from assured.


*Aristotle was born in Stageira, an ancient Greek city in the north of modern day Greece. His father was personal physician to King Amyntas of Macedon, Philip II's father. At about the age of eighteen Aristotle went to Athens to continue his education at Plato's Academy - thus the Macedonians likely considered him Greek, while the Athenians would have considered him a barbarian for not being from Athens (keep in mind that Greece at the time was a loose composite of city-states with frequently changing boundaries, the concept of formalized country boundaries did not appear in most of Europe until the 15th century).

This review was originally published in October 2010, and has been updated for the September 2011 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.