BookBrowse Reviews A Secret Kept by Tatiana de Rosnay

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Secret Kept

by Tatiana de Rosnay

A Secret Kept by Tatiana de Rosnay X
A Secret Kept by Tatiana de Rosnay
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2010, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2011, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Beverly Melven

Buy This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


From the author of Sarah's Key - The story of a modern family, the invisible ties that hold it together, and the impact it has throughout life

If you like your thought-provoking books with a dose of energetic plot, you'll want to read A Secret Kept. Set in France, both in Paris and Noirmoutier (see sidebar), the story starts in the middle of the action as we meet a man still in shock from a very recent car accident, which becomes the catalyst for him to reexamine his entire life.

As you would imagine from the title, de Rosnay's follow up to Sarah's Key (2007) is about secrets - some significant, some not. Her message appears to be that it is not so much the nature of the secret that causes problems in a relationship but the fact that there are secrets. Once you discover one surprising secret about someone you love, suddenly you wonder what else you don't know about them. And secrets discovered in adulthood call into question everything you believed to be true. It seems trite, but this is really a story about life and death. The life you are living, and the life you want to live. Whereas Sarah's Key had us examining historical secrets, A Secret Kept looks at our more personal secrets with equal intensity.

If I had read A Secret Kept in my early twenties, I think I would have enjoyed it as an entertaining diversion (there is plenty of exciting plot to keep most readers interested) but would not have found the richness that I did by reading it in my forties, with a few decades of experience behind me. I think I connected so strongly to this book because the main character, Antoine, is about my age and dealing with the kinds of things I deal with. The reader is not held at a distance watching him contemplate his deep thoughts, instead we are alongside him, experiencing his life as it unfolds. Antoine is trying to work out how to be friends with his ex-wife while sandwiched between two generations - his children are growing up and developing secrets of their own, while his father and grandmother are in failing health. The weekend trip was intended to be an escape for him and his sister, but the car accident forces him to actually look at his life, rather than simply float through it, which is, of course, the wakeup call he needs.

De Rosnay's writing is frank but never vulgar, though there is a bit of profanity. She puts you in the setting without over-doing the details. Not having been to France myself, I feel she strikes a good balance between providing enough detail to paint a scene without burdening the reader with too much trivia. I was thoroughly engrossed and finished the book in two days. There was never a false note, and never a dull moment.

Reviewed by Beverly Melven

This review was originally published in September 2010, and has been updated for the September 2011 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Noirmoutier

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.