BookBrowse Reviews Freeze Frame by Peter May

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Freeze Frame

The Fourth of the Enzo Files

by Peter May

Freeze Frame by Peter May
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2010, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2010, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jo Perry

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The fourth installment in the Enzo Files mystery series, set on a tiny island off the coast of Brittany

Spending time with Peter May's charming and clever Enzo Macleod in Brittany is pure pleasure. In May's fourth installment of the Enzo Files series, the remote Ile de Groix, with its turbulent coast, rough weather, and laconic and secretive residents, tests Macleod intellectually and physically as he attempts to solve a case so cold it's frigid. At the same time, Macleod struggles with a mercurial lover and her life-altering secret.

May establishes his mystery with confidence and carries us toward his final satisfying revelations with sure pacing and adroit storytelling. The story opens in Munich, 1951, as a doctor leaves his wife, children and medical practice behind to disappear into the dark, barely escaping shadowy pursuers. May then carries the reader to Morocco, then Paris, where we meet Macleod, then to Brittany - moving us back and forth in time - until we witness the murder at the center of the narrative.

Twenty years later, Macleod must interpret the clues inside the entomologist murder victim's study, nonsensical messages written on post-it notes stuck in books and taped to the refrigerator and the lamp; a framed poem on the wall hung upside-down; slight and willful disorder among obsessively orderly bookshelves; and a shell-casing without fingerprints. And outside the study, Macleod, an intruder on the island, stirs up old passions in people connected to the murder victim. Among the interesting, well-drawn and often surprising characters are a volatile and violent alcoholic acquitted of the crime but still under suspicion; a charming doctor and his beautiful wife; the victim's lonely and amorous daughter-in-law; and the victim himself - a powerful and confusing presence.

If there's a flaw in Freeze Frame, it's May's occasional awkward overwriting:

"What would she tell him? That Enzo had come knocking at the door, trying to rake over the ashes of the past, and that she had sent him packing? Or having finally lanced the boil that had been slowly poisoning her for twenty years, would she now tell him the truth?"

Still, the truth hidden inside the mystery of Freeze Frame is fascinating and Enzo Macleod is great fun to hang out with. He's a fine guide to the Ile de Groix's history and geography, its food, wine, sea, sky and people. He's satisfyingly smart, too, but not so clever that he becomes remote or inhuman: I especially enjoy it when he solves problems by letting his unconscious mind sort things out, or, when it comes to his own difficulties, can't sort them out them at all.

A note about the series: Though this is the 4th installment in the Enzo Files series, readers should be able to jump right in whether they've read the previous books or not.

Series order to date:
Dry Bones (originally titled Extraordinary People, 2006)
A Vintage Corpse (originally titled The Critic, 2007)
Blacklight Blue (2008)
Freeze Frame (2010).

Publishing in 2011: Blow Back, which will investigate the mysterious death of a three-star Michelin Guide chef.

The title changes for the first two books were explained to BookBrowse by Peter May's editor as follows: "In line with the forensics in the seven-book Enzo series based on a wager that the Scottish scientist can solve seven cold cases presented in a book by Parisian journalist Roger Raffin -- perhaps a ruffian himself -- we have retitled the first two books to fit the concept better. Thus 2006's Extraordinary People is now available in trade paperback as Dry Bones. The Critic is now A Vintage Corpse. Both are available under these titles while the older titles no longer are."

Reviewed by Jo Perry

This review is from the April 21, 2010 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Graybar Hotel
    The Graybar Hotel
    by Curtis Dawkins
    We – those of us on the outside – are lucky. So very lucky. We get to experience life &#...
  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.