BookBrowse Reviews The Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Crossing Places

A Ruth Galloway Mystery

by Elly Griffiths

The Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths X
The Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2010, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2010, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The first installment in a new British mystery series, set in coastal Norfolk on the North Sea

This first book in a new British mystery series already has lots of fans among our readers. All 17 of our First Impressions reviewers liked the book, and are looking forward to the next installment.

Here's what they had to say:
What's not to love? Archeology, history, mysticism, mystery, suspense, a likable female lead character, the promise of a series, and a pleasing, low-key humor. An easy read, but with enough meat to be interesting (Juliet F). The Crossing Places pairs archaeology with criminal investigation - a good pairing since both disciplines use clues to solve mysteries (Susan). The book is atmospheric without being gloomy, the characters interesting because of their flaws and not the lack thereof. Beneath the mystery plot, the book, as suggested by the title, delves into boundaries: emotional, professional, personal, ethical and, of course, physical. A final plot twist at the end hints at even more upheaval in books to come. I look forward to Ms. Griffiths's next book in the series (Carol C.)

Most of all, readers loved the main character:
The plot is enjoyable, the setting is great, but it is the character of Ruth Galloway that captures my primary interest. I would definitely be interested in reading further books in this series just to see what Ruth is up to (Alan K). She's a delightful, human, and quirky character (Jane D), a person to whom most people can relate; a bit overweight, with a wry sense of humor and with a realistic view of life (Susan H).

Minor criticsisms:
My love for the protagonist will keep me reading the series, but I would love for the author to be braver in how she executes the high-pitched dramatic moments. I skipped some pages. But if you love British mysteries, this series looks to be promising (Tricia L).

The bottom line:
This is a fun and exciting mystery, while also offering interesting tidbits of archeology, ancient cultures, and Norse mythology (Jane D). I am a frequent reader of British mysteries and am always on the lookout for a series new to me. I'm so glad to be introduced to Elly Griffiths and The Crossing Places. I was hooked 20 pages in by the main characters and the locale. And now I am looking forward to seeing the relationships develop and to learn more about the history of this section of England (Betty B).

Series order to date
The Crossing Places (2009)
The Janus Stone (2010)
The House at Sea's End (available in the UK Jan 2011, publication date elsewhere not announced)

This review was originally published in January 2010, and has been updated for the September 2010 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.