Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Eating Animals

by Jonathan Safran Foer

Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer X
Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2009, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    Sep 2010, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Cindy Anderson
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The author of Everything is Illuminated presents an unflinching look at factory farming, and an impassioned argument for compassionate eating

I love sushi, I love fried chicken, I love a good steak. But there is a limit to my love. - Jonathan Safran Foer

Eating Animals is, at times, an emotionally tough read. It describes the miserable lives and often horrible deaths of poultry, cows, pigs and fish that are bred (or caught) for human consumption. You may want smelling salts for some of the passages that describe what happens to the animals that aren't yet dead when they get near the end of the conveyor. Nevertheless, this is a book that everyone should read, vegetarian or not. It is didactic without being dull, it presents its arguments without preaching, it manages to be both approachable in style and appealing to educated readers, and it offers up new arguments in addition to some familiar ones.

One of the elements that sets Foer's book apart from others in this genre is that he begins and ends with what he calls "Storytelling." The first chapter reminisces lovingly about his grandmother's cooking, and explains her relationship with food, which was shaped in part by her experiences as a young Jew in Europe during WWII. (She keeps kosher, but is not a vegetarian). After talking about his grandmother, Foer briefly describes his path to a vegetarian lifestyle, which didn't begin in earnest until after his son was born. It was at that point that he truly realized, "food matters." And so he began an exploration into how his food winds up on his plate. That journey resulted in this book, and, for Foer, a metaphorical new story in his life as a committed vegetarian. By using the metaphor and the device of "storytelling" as the framework of the book, Foer allows readers to accompany him on his journey. This means sharing his moments of resoluteness, guilt, ambivalence, anger, and love (of food, family, sharing) that punctuate the book.

For me, one of the issues of ethical vegetarianism that has always been problematic is the feeling that my efforts just won't matter. Just because I choose not have chicken for dinner, what ripple effect, if any, will that have on the poultry industry? Foer, to his credit, honestly admits that he cannot subscribe to "that quaint notion that everyone can make a difference." But our choices, he says, do influence others, because most people don't eat in isolation. Although he calls vegetarianism a personal choice, Foer also finds the idea of sharing one's knowledge (about where meat comes from) valuable.

Foer never tries to argue that animals are equal to humans. His focus is the pain and suffering caused by factory farms. He believes that animals do deserve a reasonably comfortable existence that does not include living in a cage too small to turn around in, or being forced to give birth to litter after litter of young, and a death that does not include being boiled alive, beaten to death, or sadistically tortured. Since these things happen at factory farms despite humane efforts, Foer feels that the ethical course is to stop consuming their products.

The argument that struck me as the one Foer really wants to make doesn't appear until close to the end of the book. He says, simply, that we do not need to eat animals to survive, and since animals raised and killed for our consumption do suffer (as he has shown by this point in the book), we should not eat them. Furthermore, meat and fish may taste good to us, but we human beings are evolved and intelligent enough to make choices about what we eat that go beyond just what "tastes good." We can choose to eat other things because we know that it's the right thing to do.

The book comes full circle in its final chapter, also called "Storytelling." It focuses on the Thanksgiving turkey, and reveals how difficult Foer himself finds it to let go of the sort of Thanksgiving (with the turkey as its centerpiece) that he remembers from his childhood. Yet, after consideration, he realizes that it is not the turkey that is important at the Thanksgiving meal, but the people around the table. And, he says, making a moral decision not to support factory farming is of greater importance to him than continuing the turkey-eating part of the tradition. Perhaps Foer's vision is idealistic, but it is hopeful. And one of the loveliest qualities of Eating Animals is its hopefulness, not just for animals but for human beings as well.

One other mention: you will be missing out if you ignore the 60 pages of notes and references at the end of the book. They provide interesting, additional information that's not included in the main text. If you find it too disruptive to flip back and forth as you read, try skimming through them after you have finished. The book even has an alphabetized index in the back.

Reviewed by Cindy Anderson

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in January 2010, and has been updated for the October 2010 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Factory Farm Alternatives

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Eating Animals, try these:

  • An Inventory of Losses jacket

    An Inventory of Losses

    by Judith Schalansky

    Published 2021

    About this book

    Each disparate object described in this book - a Caspar David Friedrich painting, a species of tiger, a villa in Rome, a Greek love poem, an island in the Pacific - shares a common fate: it no longer exists, except as the dead end of a paper trail.

  • Why Did the Chicken Cross the World? jacket

    Why Did the Chicken Cross the World?

    by Andrew Lawler

    Published 2016

    About this book

    More by this author

    From ancient empires to modern economics, veteran journalist Andrew Lawler delivers a sweeping history of the animal that has been most crucial to the spread of civilization across the globe - the chicken.

We have 6 read-alikes for Eating Animals, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Jonathan Safran Foer
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.