Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Broken Jewel by David L. Robbins

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Broken Jewel

A Novel

by David L. Robbins

Broken Jewel by David L. Robbins X
Broken Jewel by David L. Robbins
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2009, 432 pages

    Paperback:
    Aug 2010, 528 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A novel set against the backdrop of a historical prison-break in World War II era Philippines

A story set against the backdrop of a historic prison-break in World War II era Philippines turns into an absorbing novel of love, sacrifice, and duty in David L. Robbins's Broken Jewel. Robbins is known for his attention to historical accuracy, and his latest novel does not disappoint. Every aspect of the comfort women system, life in a Japanese internment camp, and details of the American march into Luzon are all perfectly integrated into a story about three struggling people caught in Los Baños.

A novel that could have devolved into a mere retelling of known historical events comes alive through the voices and tribulations of three central characters – Remy Tuck, his son Talbot, and Carmen, a comfort woman. As with the rest of the camp, these three are held against their will, forced to inhabit lives they hate. Remy is the consummate gambler, attempting to manipulate his luck - and the luck of his son - through his cards. After the death of his wife, Remy pulled back from his life, receding into his gambling habit and resisting closeness with his son. He has a different set of challenges in Los Baños, though, and his old coping mechanisms are failing him. Death is everywhere and his luck is changing – and not for the better. Alongside Remy, Tal also struggles with the status quo of life in the camp. A boy desperate to be a man, and obsessed with becoming a hero, Tal believes that fighting the Japanese through petty theft and open hostility is the only way to prove his maturity. Remy and Tal dance around each other, both wanting a closer relationship, both unsure of how to proceed. The pressures of camp life, the cruelty of the Japanese, and the constant threat of death force both father and son to face the realities of their failed relationship. One point of issue between them is Tal's love for Carmen, the comfort woman in the camp. Remy struggles with his son's focus on a woman he sees as unacceptable, and Tal, like a medieval knight from a beloved story, wants only to free her. Carmen is also struggling. Forced into sexual slavery and fearful of open defiance, she dreams daily of Tal and devises her own quiet way of fighting the Japanese.

CampWith keen insight and deft characterization, Robbins investigates the pressures of deprivation and cruelty on the most common of human relationships – the love between a father and son and the love between a man and a woman – in a most uncommon circumstance. As each character changes over the course of the novel, it becomes clear that the desire to survive will not be enough to free them from the nightmare of the camp. Only through duty, love and coming together will escape be possible for Remy, Tal, and Carmen.

Surrounding these three characters is the dangerous world of Los Baños in the final days of World War II. The Americans are on the march, and the Japanese army is over-stretched and tired. History tells us how the story will end, but Robbins teases the reader, keeping the tension high and the suspense constant. Details about life in the camp and the depictions of the people there – the nuns in the Catholic section, the children playing in the yard, the Japanese guards exercising in loin cloths in the early mornings – construct a vibrant tapestry of insight into life in Los Baños. Robbins's attention to historical detail and the sympathetic treatment of his captivating characters create an absorbing novel that will appeal to a variety of readers.

Interesting Link: A short history of the liberation of Los Baños internment camp at historynet.com



Image: The Los Baños internment camp

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in November 2009, and has been updated for the September 2010 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Comfort Women

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Broken Jewel, try these:

  • Zero Night jacket

    Zero Night

    by Mark Felton

    Published 2015

    About this book

    On August 30, 1942 - 'Zero Night' - 40 Allied officers staged the most audacious mass escape of World War II. Told with a novelist's eye for drama and detail, this rip-roaring adventure is all the more thrilling because it really happened.

  • Unbroken jacket

    Unbroken

    by Laura Hillenbrand

    Published 2014

    About this book

    More by this author

    In her long-awaited new book, Laura Hillenbrand writes with the same rich and vivid narrative voice she displayed in Seabiscuit. Telling an unforgettable story of a man's journey into extremity, Unbroken is a testament to the resilience of the human mind, body, and spirit.

We have 7 read-alikes for Broken Jewel, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by David Robbins
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...
  • Book Jacket: Daughters of Shandong
    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung
    Daughters of Shandong is the debut novel of Eve J. Chung, a human rights lawyer living in New York. ...
  • Book Jacket: Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    by Xochitl Gonzalez
    Brooklyn-based novelist Xochitl Gonzalez is an inspiring writer to follow. At forty, she decided to ...
  • Book Jacket: Icarus
    Icarus
    by K. Ancrum
    The titular protagonist of K. Ancrum's young adult novel Icarus lives a double life that mixes the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Romantic Comedy
by Curtis Sittenfeld
A comedy writer's stance on love shifts when a pop star challenges her assumptions in this witty and touching novel.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.