BookBrowse Reviews Broken Jewel by David L. Robbins

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Broken Jewel

A Novel

by David L. Robbins

Broken Jewel
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2009, 432 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2010, 528 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A novel set against the backdrop of a historical prison-break in World War II era Philippines

A story set against the backdrop of a historic prison-break in World War II era Philippines turns into an absorbing novel of love, sacrifice, and duty in David L. Robbins's Broken Jewel. Robbins is known for his attention to historical accuracy, and his latest novel does not disappoint. Every aspect of the comfort women system, life in a Japanese internment camp, and details of the American march into Luzon are all perfectly integrated into a story about three struggling people caught in Los Baños.

A novel that could have devolved into a mere retelling of known historical events comes alive through the voices and tribulations of three central characters – Remy Tuck, his son Talbot, and Carmen, a comfort woman. As with the rest of the camp, these three are held against their will, forced to inhabit lives they hate. Remy is the consummate gambler, attempting to ...

Interesting Link: A short history of the liberation of Los Baños internment camp at historynet.com



Image: The Los Baños internment camp

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.