BookBrowse Reviews Half the Sky by Nicholas D. Kristof, Sheryl WuDunn

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Half the Sky

Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide

by Nicholas D. Kristof, Sheryl WuDunn

Half the Sky
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2009, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2010, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Beverly Melven

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A passionate call to arms against the oppression of women and girls in the developing world

Half the Sky doesn't pretend to be anything it isn't - the introduction tells you flat-out that Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn are out to convince you to help the world become a better place. By closing the gender gap in opportunity, safety, and social equality, their research suggests that all of humanity will benefit. They want you to educate yourself and invest your time, money and voting power into making changes. It reads like a primer on how to set up organizations that work, and a call-to-action for those of us fortunate enough to be born in lands of relative safety and security.

I consider myself reasonably well-informed on the subject of women's oppression, but this book showed me how much I still have to learn. It is full of interesting details and overwhelming facts. Did you know that iodine in a pregnant woman's diet could make a 10-point difference in that child's IQ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.