BookBrowse Reviews The Man in the Wooden Hat by Jane Gardam

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Man in the Wooden Hat

by Jane Gardam

The Man in the Wooden Hat by Jane Gardam X
The Man in the Wooden Hat by Jane Gardam
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2009, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2009, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A rich account of a long marriage, from one of England's most respected contemporary novelists

Some authors write as though their words have been squeezed out of a tube then worked into shape with a palette knife. Jane Gardam's writing seems spilled as effortlessly onto the page as a watercolor wash, deceptively uncomplicated yet rich in detail, depth and drama. In this companion piece to the compelling and defiantly funny Old Filth, Gardam adds layers of nuance to the lives and relationships of Edward, known as Eddie, and Elizabeth (Betty) Feathers.  While Old Filth is narrated primarily from Eddie's point of view, The Man in the Wooden Hat focuses more on Elizabeth, and cannily asks whether we can ever truly know anyone, even ourselves.

Old Filth (2006), which you don't have to have read to enjoy The Man in the Wooden Hat, takes its name from the derogatory acronymn FILTH - Failed In London Try Hong Kong, a reference to the many young and not so young Brits who, like Eddie, would find that their careers flourished after moving to Hong Kong (a British Crown Colony from 1841 to 1997).   In Eddie's case he left London a struggling young barrister, and became a wealthy expatriate lawyer and then a distinguished judge.  In Old Filth, Betty Feathers was something of an enigma. Viewed primarily through her husband's eyes, it was easy to assume that there wasn't much to know, although there were glimpses of something deeper, touched on so lightly that they could almost be overlooked.  In The Man in the Wooden Hat Gardam rewinds the clock back to post World War II Hong Kong to retell the history of their fifty year marriage lived against the backdrop of Britain's declining empire, this time from Betty's perspective.

Narrative commentary is rare in Gardam's books. The characters tend to tell their stories through dialogue and private thoughts that flash back and forth through time.  Betty's life reveals several occasions when the angle of light illuminating a particular moment changes, giving her a fresh perspective which results in a surprise twist. Like most people, she is not entirely focused on that moment. It brings to mind when my children were small and they would show me a scraped knee or elbow, unable to recall how it happened. Invariably I would stump them with the question: "Weren't you there when it happened?" Likewise Elizabeth was not entirely present at certain key episodes when her life and future might have turned out better, if given her full attention. Alas she is no more attentive than the rest of us. Thus when Eddie's archenemy, the dashing Terry Veneering, tells her he will send a car for her within twenty-four hours of her engagement to Feathers she numbly agrees – or at least, doesn't disagree. It is, for her, the first of several instances when her fate turns on a fleeting distraction, a wisp of carelessness.

Despite evidence to the contrary, when Betty meets Eddie she is not a flighty or immature 28-year-old.  Her union to Eddie is described as "a prudent marriage not for love" because she can think of no good reason not to marry him: "I have no aim. No certainty. I am a postwar invertebrate ... I have settled on exactly what my mother would have wanted: a rich, safe, good husband and a pleasant life."  Betty survived internment as an enemy national in a Japanese internment camp in Hong Kong during the war, where she lost both parents.   We know little of her pre-Eddie existence, except that, like Eddie, she is a "Raj orphan" who is set to inherit a fortune once she turns thirty and that she loves gardening.  Her narrative suggests a woman of above average intelligence and intuitiveness. Except perhaps when it concerns herself.

One thing she makes perfectly clear is the degree of her sufferance of Edward's absences. Due to his job as a lawyer, Eddie travels frequently, leaving Elizabeth alone for long periods of time. However, even when he is present he is emotionally absent, taking little note of the things his wife values and making major life decisions without consulting her. It eventually becomes clear though that she does not suffer alone. She suffers differently perhaps and longer, but Edward grows into his own forbearances as well. Because despite Elizabeth's promise to never leave him, she does nevertheless close him out of parts of her life. And by the time she becomes acquainted with the eponymous man in the wooden hat he may mean more to all three of them (Eddie, Betty and Terry) than any of them would like to admit.

Betty's voice perfectly captures the period and her position as she keeps up appearances while pushing the bounds of convention.  Her story illuminates a world faded but still clear in the memories of many still alive (Hong Kong was returned to the Chinese twelve years ago and, like Eddie and Elizabeth, the last generation of "Raj orphans" have reached retirement age).

Useful to Know
The fathers of so called 'Raj orphans' lived and worked in The Indian Subcontinent or other parts of South-East Asia, either as administrators or in the military.  Oftentimes, the children were sent back to England for their education usually at boarding school, staying with foster parents or relatives during the holidays, and often not seeing their parents for years at a time. 

Twice in Old Filth, similarities between Eddie's early life and that of Rudyard Kipling are mentioned, and in her acknowledgments Gardam cites her indebtedness to both Kipling’s autobiography, Something of Myself, and his short story Baa Baa Black Sheep. Whereas  Rudyard Kipling was born in Bombay in 1865 and sent to Britain to live with foster parents when he was six (with his sister who was three), Eddie was born in Malaya (his father worked in Singapore) many decades later in, one assumes, the 1920s.

Although The Man in the Wooden Hat is the second novel about Eddie and Elizabeth, Eddie stars in the title story of Gardam's short story collection, The People of Privilege Hill (2007), and also makes an earlier appearance in the title story to Missing the Midnight (1997).

This review is from the November 5, 2009 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.