BookBrowse Reviews Chronic City by Jonathan Lethem

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Chronic City

by Jonathan Lethem

Chronic City by Jonathan Lethem
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2009, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2010, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A new novel from the author of Motherless Brooklyn

If Jonathan Lethem's novels were food they would pile the pounds on those who consume them, not from empty calories but from a rich feast of extravagant fare, like lobster in drawn butter or Eggs Benedict swimming in creamy hollandaise. It invariably takes me a long time to read his books because every page bursts with lush language. Lethem uses words and tosses reality around with awe-inspiring creativity. With the possible exception of Motherless Brooklyn (which I loved and re-read to savor the sheer sumptuousness of its prose) Chronic City is his best yet.

It would be easy to assume that former child star Chase Insteadman is the main character here just because he narrates the story. On the contrary, I think the protagonist is Manhattan, the eponymous Chronic City. Indeed, for all the narrative's purposes, nothing exists outside the island's perimeter. Not a single character utters the name of a locale other than those within Manhattan's borders. Even when speaking about Chase's space-quarantined fiancée, Janice Trumbull, they never say she is making America proud. They say instead that she is making Manhattan proud. The only references to locations outside New York City are oblique allusions to nationality, as in, Chinese or Russian, etc. As Perkus says, "No body - that's no body - really believes in the news beyond the boundaries of their neighborhood or pocket universe. Manhattan is one of those, you know, a pocket universe."

The focus of the novel shifts from Insteadman's nebulous existence to a crazy plot in which he, his loony friend Perkus Tooth, Perkus's somewhat less loony friend Oona Laszlo and even New York's mayor and his minion Richard Abneg become instruments in the City's evolution. The net result is that the city's destiny rests in the slippery, drug-addled hands of this ragtag group, none of whom have much of a life - or sense of the real world.

In Lethem's Manhattan people can easily deny unpleasant realities by, for example, opting to read the "war free" edition of the New York Times. Chase is described as the ultimate amnesiac American who, "never can imagine anything actually ever happened before [he] wandered along." He lives in a town that personifies the A-type personality, but he doesn't work. He aspires to nothing. Neither do Perkus, who lives "as much inside a conundrum" as he does a city, or Oona, a ghostwriter who prefers not to know her subjects. And yet they all travel in circles frighteningly close to the wealthy and powerful people who make decisions about the city's welfare. Scary, huh?

Reviewed by Donna Chavez

This review was originally published in October 2009, and has been updated for the August 2010 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.