BookBrowse Reviews A Quiet Flame by Philip Kerr

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Quiet Flame

by Philip Kerr

A Quiet Flame
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2009, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2010, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Joanne Collings

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A tight, twisting, compelling thriller that is firmly rooted in history

Anyone who's read the movie listings during the last few months knows that World War II and the Holocaust have recently been popular subjects for serious films. Obviously, many of us are still struggling to make sense of what happened and trying to make certain that these events don't fade into the past where they become merely a part of history, among so many other half-forgotten horrors. Philip Kerr's Bernie Gunther series, which began in the summer of 1936 with March Violets and now continues with its fifth entry, A Quiet Flame, takes us to the Buenos Aires of 1950 and, in the novelistic version of flashbacks, Germany in 1932, bringing us the perspective of a German policeman turned private detective, a man who is still working to understand what happened to his country, his friends and colleagues, and himself.

When we left him, in 2006's The One From the ...

If the Dead Rise Not, the next in the Bernie Gunther series, publishes in the US on March 18, 2010.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.