Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews A Beautiful Place to Die by Malla Nunn

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Beautiful Place to Die

A Novel

by Malla Nunn

A Beautiful Place to Die by Malla Nunn X
A Beautiful Place to Die by Malla Nunn
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2009, 384 pages

    Paperback:
    Oct 2009, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Allison Stadd
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A morally complex tale, first in a new mystery series, set in 1950s South Africa

Malla Nunn's experience as a filmmaker shines through her debut novel, the first in a planned series. Her penchant for story-telling and poignant dialogue keep the reader captivated through this suspenseful thriller. Detective Sergeant Emmanuel Cooper is sent to investigate the murder of white policeman Captain Pretorius in the racially divided town of Jacob's Rest, in the North-East of South Africa (map) close to the Mozambique border. Set in 1952, just after the institution of new apartheid laws, the story is mired in racial complexity. Nunn explores the deep layers of tension stewing among the black, colored and Afrikaner residents, adding to the pot Jews, Englishmen and Dutchmen as further complicating factors to blur the line between the oppressed and the oppressors.

Detective Cooper steals our hearts from the first, and has us desperate for his triumph until the very last page. His intelligence, dry sense of humor, trustworthiness and upright morals assure us that his path is the right one. On his side is Shabalala, the native policeman and childhood friend of the murdered Captain Willem Pretorius, who exposes the reader to Zulu history and customs, adding richness to the story. Nunn is clearly very familiar with her subject, making for a novel that is equally as informative as it is riveting and controversial. Another sympathetic character is the old Jewish doctor Daniel Zweigman, enigmatic yet ultimately genuine. He, too, offers us a glimpse inside another world, with bitter tastes of his former life of abuse under the Nazi regime.

Nunn's villains are as fully developed as her protagonists. Piet and Dickie, sent from the Security Branch of the National Party to override Cooper's authority on the murder investigation, aren't strong or smart enough to thwart Cooper's efforts toward righteousness, but they certainly give him a run for his money. The Captain's hefty, muscular sons, too, wield physical dominance over Cooper, throwing many obstacles in his path.

The novel's intricately woven plot leaves no leaf unturned, so that the conclusion is believable and narratively satisfying, unlike many mystery stories in which the reader must suppress the urge to shout at the author about suspects left untried or threads left unfollowed. The ease with which Nunn ties in other cultures, including languages, solidifies the realistic nature of the book in a positive way. The foray into Mozambique provides particularly vibrant images of the scenery and inhabitants, and mouth-watering descriptions of the food.

By the book's end, readers will find themselves as deeply entwined in the characters' fates as Nunn is herself, and left to ruminate over a number of weighty debates as the tale weaves in double standards, double lives, emotional betrayal, murder, corruption and sexual deviance.

Coming Soon: Let the Dead Lie (April 2010)

The Apartheid Laws at Play in A Beautiful Place to Die
Prohibition of Mixed Marriages Act, Act No 55 of 1949
Prohibited marriages between white people and black or colored people of other races. Between 1946 and 1949 only 75 mixed marriages were recorded, compared with 28,000 white marriages in total.

Immorality Amendment Act, Act No 21 of 1950
Prohibited adultery, attempted adultery or related immoral acts (such as extra-marital sex) between white and black or colored people.

Population Registration Act, Act No 30 of 1950
Instituted a national register in which every individual's race was recorded. In addition, a Race Classification Board was designed in order to make the final sign-off in disputed cases.

Suppression of Communism Act, Act No 44 of 1950
Outlawed communist activity and the Community Party in South Africa.

Natives (Abolition of Passes and Co-ordination of Documents) Act, Act No 67 of 1952
This act forced black people to carry identification with them at all times, including a photograph, place of origin, employment record, tax payments, and any encounters with the police. It was considered a criminal offense to be caught without these papers.

Reservation of Separate Amenities Act, Act No 49 of 1953
Forced racial segregation in all public amenities, buildings and transport. The goal was to limit contact between differing races, and highly favored the quality of whites' facilities over blacks' and coloreds'. The thoughts behind this law were just beginning to form when Nunn's book takes place, resulting, for example, in the separate rooms for sorting mail in the post office.

Reviewed by Allison Stadd

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in January 2009, and has been updated for the November 2009 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Apartheid

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked A Beautiful Place to Die, try these:

We have 8 read-alikes for A Beautiful Place to Die, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Malla Nunn
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Wings Upon Her Back
    by Samantha Mills
    Faith is a delicate thing. At its best, it can offer peace in times of crisis. At its worst, it can ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.