BookBrowse Reviews The Given Day by Dennis Lehane

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Given Day

A Novel

by Dennis Lehane

The Given Day
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2008, 720 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2009, 720 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Diane La Rue

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Set in Boston at the end of World War I, Lehane's novel captures the political and social unrest of a nation caught at the crossroads between past and future

If you think that a fictional account of the 1919 Boston Police strike wouldn't hold your interest, you'd be wrong. Dennis Lehane, best known for his mysteries set in contemporary Boston, draws comparisons to E.L. Doctorow's classic Ragtime with his historical novel, The Given Day.

Both books combine the stories of fictional characters with actual people who lived at the time, with anarchist Emma Goldman making an appearance in both. The themes of family, loyalty, greed, class, race, secrets and power, and how they affect people and their relationships, combine to make this an unforgettable novel.

Baseball fans will be drawn in immediately as the story starts off with Babe Ruth, playing at that time for the Boston Red Sox. Ruth stumbles upon a baseball game being played by young black men in Ohio, and asks to join the game. He is in awe of their talent, and ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.