BookBrowse Reviews Disquiet by Julia Leigh

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Disquiet

by Julia Leigh

Disquiet by Julia Leigh X
Disquiet by Julia Leigh
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Nov 2008, 128 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Similar to a Rembrandt sketch, this novella breathes full-bodied life through only a few deft, precise strokes

Julia Leigh's second work is a beautiful, gothic tale and an intimate examination of psychological pain. The novella opens with Olivia's return to her childhood home after a twelve-year absence. Her two children trail behind her. A sense of foreboding and displacement takes root in the first scene when Olivia tries to open the gate to her mother's chateau via the electronic keypad. The gate will not open. Undeterred, she and the children veer off the path to the lawn, and Olivia tries to enter the chateau's grounds through, presumably, her "secret" childhood entrance. This is closed to her, too, until her son, Andy, bloodies his shoulder in his effort to force the door. As they walk across the lawns to the main house, the gardeners cut large hedges into playful shapes – barbells, ice cream cones – but the whimsical characters of the plants seem odd in this cold, closed world. Soon, Olivia's brother Marcus returns home with his disconsolate, depressed wife Sophie and their stillborn child Alice. Olivia and Marcus's mother resignedly watches over all them. It becomes clear that these characters are plagued with deep sadness, regret, and disquietude. Even the children – Andy and Lucy – wrestle with their own pain, as Lucy strives to understand the disorientation of her new life in this chilly house, and Andy plots to return home to his father.

At the center of this dismal group is Olivia, a woman who has fled from an abusive husband only to find herself unmoored from the bearings of her life. She pronounces to her brother that she "is murdered" and even offers her children to him, desiring perhaps to unfetter her life so she can leave it. Her body is covered with yellow bruises and her broken arm is in a sling. It becomes obvious that the future of her life will depend on her own choices and ability to cope, none of the adults – her brother, mother, Sophie, or the housekeeper Ida – will consciously help her.

This is not a warm family; secrets, resentments, and deep fissures exist here with the morning tea. There will be no late night therapeutic discussions, no sage advice about how to handle the vicissitudes of life. There are moments when various characters attempt to reach out to others, but the dysfunction is too deep, the ceremony too ingrained for there to be real connection. Ultimately, Olivia's children, particularly Andy, provide the catalyst for her recovery. Contrasted to Sophie, slowly dying inside as she nurses her dead child, Olivia is brought back to life by the flesh-and-blood Andy, the child that refuses to give up on her, though she would give up on him.

This transformation is powerful, and though some critics have argued that Disquiet is light on plot, Olivia's evolution is absorbing and complex. Leigh is an artist working at the top of her game, and the success of this novella lies in her ability to shave as much fat from her narrative as possible, while maintaining deep, profound significance. Similar to a Rembrandt sketch, this novella breathes full-bodied life through only a few deft, precise strokes. Like a poem, each word carries a heavy load. Leigh is a remarkable, stunning writer and Disquiet is a must-read.

This review is from the November 12, 2008 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.