BookBrowse Reviews Blood River by Tim Butcher

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Blood River

The Terrifying Journey Through the World's Most Dangerous Country

by Tim Butcher

Blood River
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2008, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2009, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Fiona Lorrain

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Butcher's journey was a remarkable feat, but the story of the Congo, told expertly and vividly in this book, is more remarkable still

Born in 1967 in Warwickshire, England, Tim Butcher was educated at Oxford before embarking upon his career as a journalist for The Daily Telegraph. Since then, he has covered such crises as the Balkan wars of the 1990s, the Allied invasion of Iraq in 2003, and Israel's 2006 struggle with Hezbollah in Lebanon. When he was posted to Africa in 1990 as the paper's chief war correspondent and Africa Bureau Chief, he grew eager to understand the Congo River (formerly known as the Zaire River) through a personal odyssey. This odyssey was to become a dangerous solo six-week journey, overland and by river, from Lake Tanganyika to Boma, close to where the river spews into the Atlantic.

The title, Blood River, speaks volumes for the history of the region that Butcher describes as 'Africa's broken heart.' Interweaving anecdotes and historical accounts from earlier colonial ...

The Congo River
In many places The Congo is as turbulent and mysterious as the history of the countries that it runs through.  Even tying down seemingly basic facts such as its length are difficult, but roughly speaking it is about 2,920 miles long, which makes it the second longest river in Africa after the Nile. It travels through a number of countries during its journey to the Atlantic Ocean, but the majority of its length is spent within or bordering the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

The Congo River is one of the most voluminous in the world (most sources say it is second to the Amazon) discharging in the region of 1.5 million cubic feet of water per second. Because its watershed drains from both the Northern and Southern Hemispheres its flow is relatively stable all year because part of its watershed is always in the zone of rain.

The river ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.