BookBrowse Reviews Brooklyn Bridge by Karen Hesse

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Brooklyn Bridge

by Karen Hesse

Brooklyn Bridge
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2008, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2008, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jo Perry

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Newbery Medalist Karen Hesse builds a story of the lucky, the unlucky, and those in between, set in early 20th century New York

Lively, mysterious, melancholy and sharp as the pickles young Joe buys from Dilly Lepkoff on the street, Brooklyn Bridge will transport young readers to the dangerous, exhilarating and often tragic world of turn-of-the-century New York.

It is ironic that the American invention of the Teddy Bear, symbol of compassion and comforter of countless children, inspired this historical novel of light and dark, and fortunate and unfortunate children. Young Joseph Michtom, son of bear inventor Morris Michtom, narrates the first of the novel's triadic stories. Joseph's is the story of light, luck, love, family and possibility. The second narrative, delivered via a disembodied third person, voices the histories of a band of homeless, often brutalized and damaged children who live in misery under the Brooklyn Bridge. As counterpoint to the street children's underworld of ...

A video interview with Karen Hesse.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.