BookBrowse Reviews The Black Tower by Louis Bayard

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Black Tower

by Louis Bayard

The Black Tower
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2008, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2009, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Can the mighty and profane Eugène François Vidocq, history’s first great detective, solve this mystery of political intrigue and epic treachery set in 19th century France?

Literary chiaroscurist* Bayard's 1818 Paris, at the peak (or is it the depth?) of the Restoration after the bloody Revolution, comes alive on the page as Eugène François Vidocq, the father of modern police detection, unravels a complex knot of crimes that could ultimately produce Louis-Charles, Louis XVI and Marie-Antoinette's young son, long thought to have died while imprisoned in the Black Tower (part of the notorious Temple prison in Paris) in 1795. If the person in question is indeed the lost/reputedly deceased dauphin (heir to the French throne) he could displace King Louis XVIII, threatenign his plans for the future of France.

Needless to say tensions run high as red herring after red herring gets thrown into the path of forensic genius Vidocq. Beginning with the murder of an unidentified man who was killed in an alley not far from the home ...

The French Revolution & Restoration
Most readers will recollect the French Revolution of 1789-1799, during which France was transformed from an absolute monarchy based on feudal principles, with the aristocracy and Catholic clergy at the top of the heap, to a republic of (theoretically) free and equal citizens. But some may have forgotten the more than 80 years that followed that saw two restorations of the monarchy and two additional revolutions before something resembling the France we know today hauled itself out of the rubble. In brief:

  • 1789: The French Revolution begins with the storming of the Bastille.
  • 1792: Louis XVI is tried for treason and convicted; the monarchy is abolished. France goes to war with Austria and its allies, including Prussia, (the war will last until 1797).
  • 1793: Louis XVI and Queen Marie Antoinette are guillotined in ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.