BookBrowse Reviews My Guantanamo Diary by Mahvish Khan

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

My Guantanamo Diary

The Detainees and the Stories They Told Me

by Mahvish Khan

My Guantanamo Diary
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2008, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2009, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lesley Marshall

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A female lawyer reports from the military prison at Guantanamo Bay

In My Guantanamo Diary, author Mahvish Rukhsana Khan, daughter of Afghan immigrants, takes the reader into the lives of the detainees of Guantanamo Bay. As an interpreter and part of the law team for the detainees, the author's point of view is one of a fact finder, but as she speaks and gets to know the prisoners, it turns into one of sympathetic listener, confidant and friend.

Habeas corpus is the law under which detainees can petition for relief of unlawful imprisonment. The legal teams that represent the prisoners are referred to in the book as habeas counsel. The habeas counsel encountered many hurdles in gaining access and time to defend their clients. On occasion, they were made to stand and wait outside in the full sun for up to two hours before being allowed in to talk with ...

Habeas corpus (Latin for "you may have the body"), also known as "The Great Writ", is a law that requires a person detained by authorities to be brought to a court of law so that the legality of his detention can be examined. The name is taken from the opening words of the writ (law) in medieval times.  The Habeas Corpus Act was enshrined in British law by Parliament in 1679 but is thought to have been in common law for many years before, possibly as far back as the pre-Norman conquest Anglo-Saxon era.  It's original use was as a writ to bring a prisoner into court to testify in a trial.  What began as a weapon for the king and courts now offers protection to the individual against arbitrary detention by the state.

The right to petition for a writ of habeas corpus is one of ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.