BookBrowse Reviews The Enchantress of Florence by Salman Rushdie

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Enchantress of Florence

by Salman Rushdie

The Enchantress of Florence by Salman Rushdie
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2008, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2009, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A prodigious fever dream of a book

Salman Rushdie's The Enchantress of Florence is a phantasmagoria of sights, sounds, characters, and long sentences set in 16th century Italy and the Mughal Empire.

The plot centers on a series of stories told by a mysterious interloper to the Great Akbar. Akbar is a free thinker and a munificent ruler, so the interloper, Uccello, is able to stay and tell his stories after many of the court believe he should leave. The story is about the mysterious Enchantress of Florence, whose personal history greatly interests Akbar.

The telling of stories and the similarities between Akbar's court and the distant Italy are two of the central themes of the novel: Rushdie opines through metaphor, character, and plot that humanity is the same regardless of situation or fashion. The interweaving storylines, one set in Renaissance Italy, the other in the Mughal Empire, act as mirrors of each other. Akbar's ability to understand Uccello's stories further underscores the fact that he is a great ruler; he can imaginatively step outside his experience to sympathize with people who live far away from him. (The implication is that we must also learn how to do this; hence the reason Rushdie set this tale in the 16th century.) In contrast to his suspicious courtiers, he is able to transcend time and space to see the sameness between people.

Akbar has magnificent imaginative powers. He is able to conjure a wife from the ether of his mind, which causes the ladies of his harem no end of consternation. They find themselves challenged by the paradoxical situation of competing against another women's affection for Akbar, even though that woman does not exist. Thus begins the confusing, labyrinthine qualities of The Enchantress of Florence.

Rushdie's larger points that literature (storytelling) should be the agent for understanding and that people are essentially the same is well heard and, after 500 pages, well-explained, but the novel contemplates little else. The plot circulates around itself, and though some scenes (sections in Italy and Akbar's palace come to mind) are lucid and engaging, the nonlinear sections are so frequent and so confusing that they undermine any brilliance the clearer narrative sections possess. One finds oneself anxiously looking forwards and backwards in the narrative for a point of reference; and the slog is difficult. There are clear, beautiful moments to be found; and some of the characters, The Enchantress for one, jump off the page. Yet, the plot and the connection between the characters is unclear. By the end, it seems that the novels objective is simply to confuse, providing neither the benefit of a satisfying conclusion or the key to the central riddle.

Overall, there are some brilliant moments and those fond of Rushdie's earlier works might be interested in wading into this one.

Salman Rushdie was born in Bombay (Mumbai) in 1947. He studied in India and England, reading History at King's College, Cambridge. His first novel, Grimus, was published in 1975. His second novel, the critically acclaimed and award-winning Midnight's Children, was published in 1991. Among its honors, it has won the Booker Prize and the 'Booker of the Bookers,' recognizing it as the best example of that illustrious prize. Malcolm Bradley in The Modern British Novel (1994) pronounced the book "a new start for the late-twentieth-century novel." Rushdie's next novel, Shame, also won critical acclaim and international awards.

Famously, Rushdie's next book, The Satanic Verses, incurred an issuance of a fatwa – a call for his death – by the orthodox leadership in Iran. Rushdie went into hiding, together with his then-wife Marianne Wiggins, but continued writing. All of his subsequent work has garnered critical acclaim. He says that The Enchantress of Florence was written in the aftermath of his divorce from Padma Lakshimi and helped him to recover from the pain of separation.

This review was originally published in June 2008, and has been updated for the January 2009 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Do Not Become Alarmed
    Do Not Become Alarmed
    by Maile Meloy
    Full disclosure: I've never had any desire to go on a cruise. I start getting antsy and ...
  • Book Jacket: Priestdaddy
    Priestdaddy
    by Patricia Lockwood
    Patricia Lockwood is a poet and the daughter of Greg Lockwood, a Catholic priest. While Catholic ...
  • Book Jacket: Before We Sleep
    Before We Sleep
    by Jeffrey Lent
    Katey Snow, aged seventeen, leaves home one night. "There was a void within her and one that could ...

Win this book!
Win News of the World

News of the World

A brilliant work of historical fiction that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T's S I Numbers

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.