BookBrowse Reviews The House on Fortune Street by Margot Livesey

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The House on Fortune Street

A Novel

by Margot Livesey

The House on Fortune Street by Margot Livesey X
The House on Fortune Street by Margot Livesey
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2008, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2009, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lesa Holstine

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Livesey explores the role of luck through four interlocking narratives

Abigail and Dara both experienced life-changing events when they were ten years old. One woman gets on with her life; the other continues to look for answers to her past. The question that Margot Livesey asks is what happens when two women, each with a difficult childhood, become friends and how will that friendship accommodate the ups and downs of romantic love? How does childhood trauma affect people?

As the reader follows Abigail and Dara through life, it's fascinating to see the effects of those early events. Is it luck or fate that brings Dara together with Edward, a musician, and Abigail together with Sean, a Ph.D. candidate? Livesey complicates the question by suggesting that we make our own luck, both good and bad, through our choices, but the effects of those choices are rarely straightforward. Perhaps the most intriguing character in the book is Dara's father, Cameron. Cameron makes one bad decision and the course of his life—and consequently Dara's—changes forever. The author does such an outstanding job of allowing each character to tell his or her story that the reader can actually imagine the road not taken.

Abigail mentions that her grandfather believed, "Everyone had a book, or a writer, that was the key to their life." Dara's stepfather responds, "Does the person have to have read the book? Or is the connection there anyway, and some people figure it out and others don't?" It's up to the reader to figure out Cameron's link to Lewis Carroll, Sean's to John Keats, and Dara's to Virginia Woolf. The most surprising link, and one that humanizes her, is Abigail's connection to Charles Dickens.

In The House on Fortune Street, Livesey devotes one section to each character, and each section pays homage to a different classic English novel. One by one, her characters reveal their lives, and the reader's view changes as the author peels back the story. Livesey's novel is an absorbing study of people who, by luck, choice, or fate, change their destiny.

Reviewed by Lesa Holstine

This review was originally published in May 2008, and has been updated for the May 2009 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.