Announcing our Top 20 Books of 2022

BookBrowse Reviews A Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Fraction of the Whole

by Steve Toltz

A Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz X
A Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2008, 544 pages

    Paperback:
    Oct 2008, 576 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Amy Reading
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An uproarious indictment of the modern world and its mores. 1st novel

Martin Dean feels "like a few misplaced molecules cobbled together to form an implausible person." When asked to describe himself, he comes up with "a seer of limited epiphanies" and "a megalomaniac and an underachiever." He is Steve Toltz's growling philosopher king, ferociously pessimistic yet irredeemably idealistic, his head a gaseous stew of misanthropy and ridiculous ideas for societal transformation. The "long inglorious tumult in his head" lands him in a mental hospital. It also spurs him to run for the Senate and win on the promise to turn Australia into the "first truly death-based society." Toltz can barely rein him in.

The story is supposed to be narrated by Martin's son, Jasper, but Martin keeps breaking in. That pretty much sums up the tension that fuels the novel's mostly breakneck pace through 530 pages. A Fraction of the Whole is Jasper's attempt to come to terms with his father's influence. He is fated is to be forever in the thrall of his barking mad father, just as Martin is himself fated to be forever overshadowed by his famous brother, Terry, an Australian outlaw hero in the tradition of Ned Kelly or Jesse James. It's tempting to say that A Fraction of the Whole is a meditation on male identity formation and the insufficiency of masculine role models in contemporary gender relations--but in fact the novel is far weirder than that. Jasper discovers one of Martin's notebooks, written at the time of his birth, and reads this eerie passage: "A sickening idea has taken hold—this baby is me prematurely reincarnated. I loathe this kid—I loathe it because it is me. It is me. It will surpass me. It will overthrow me. It will know what I know, all my mistakes." Jasper submerges this idea but it keeps bobbing back up, as when another character tells him that he is more than an extension of his father: "It's him inside you, waiting to come out." Jasper ends up realizing that "There's no way to sum him up. How could I? If I was only a part of him, how could I possibly ever know who he was a part of?" But the novel never stops trying to sum up its three motley characters, manacled in antagonistic love.

The result is a ragged and loping tale, captivating even in its imperfections. So what if characters are forever "groaning" or "screaming" or "shrieking" at one another, never just "saying" or "replying." Toltz's overexuberant writing style is worth it for his nonstop comedy and his unruly metaphors, such as a singer's voice "like the feeling of bitter tinfoil" or a man who "had tasted the collapse of his own mind, a taste that hadn't yet left his mouth." He plants stories within stories, just because he can. My favorite is a toxic little send-up of writing and publishing, featuring unknown authors who "emanated fear and desperation and looked so hungry they would have signed away the rights to their children for a lozenge, poor bastards."

Nonetheless, the novel could have used a good editing. Martin's story of his life before Jasper's birth dominates the first third of the book, which gallops forward with crackling energy. Then Jasper reclaims the story and it slows down to a trot. The strong narrative arc peters out into loosely connected episodes. A character is brought onstage solely so that he can die and jolt Jasper into anguished self-awareness, yet the device fails because Toltz never gives his readers a chance to empathize with the doomed boy. But if you pick up the book and you like how it starts, stick with it. Toltz recaptures Martin's energy in the last third of the book, and the story guns toward the conclusion of a really good conspiracy that doesn't even start to terrorize the Deans until page 360, right about where most novels would be wrapping things up.

I haven't even mentioned Martin's coma, The Handbook of Crime, a mysterious Thai man who pops up in Paris and Sydney, or the labyrinth the Deans construct to hide their home in the Australian bush. Clearly, Steve Toltz was aiming to overtake Peter Carey and Richard Flanagan as Australia's most inventive writer. He may have landed himself much farther.

Reviewed by Amy Reading

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in March 2008, and has been updated for the November 2008 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Bewilderment
    by Richard Powers
    In 2019, Richard Powers won the Pulitzer Prize for The Overstory, a sprawling novel whose characters...
  • Book Jacket: I'm the Girl
    I'm the Girl
    by Courtney Summers
    YA author Courtney Summers doesn't believe in shielding her teenage readers from the world's darkest...
  • Book Jacket: They're Going to Love You
    They're Going to Love You
    by Meg Howrey
    Teenage Carlisle lives with her mother in Ohio, but their relationship has never felt particularly ...
  • Book Jacket: The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    by Isaac Blum
    That irreplaceable feeling of everyone knowing your name. The yearning to be anonymous. Parents ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Natural History
    by Andrea Barrett

    A masterful new collection of interconnected stories, from the renowned National Book Award–winning author.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

W N, W Not

and be entered to win..

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Cradles of the Reich
by Jennifer Coburn
Three women, a nation seduced by a madman, and the Nazi breeding program to create a so-called master race.
Who Said...

The moment we persuade a child, any child, to cross that threshold into a library, we've changed their lives ...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.