BookBrowse Reviews City of the Sun by David Levien

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

City of the Sun

by David Levien

City of the Sun by David Levien
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2008, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2009, 432 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Vy Armour

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A riveting novel in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Michael Connelly, City of the Sun introduces private detective Frank Behr

Most writing classes say that a good story must capture the reader's interest in the first ten pages. Levien manages to do it in under five. He pulls us in quickly by creating a very likable twelve-year old, Jamie, and then immediately placing him in harm's way. The suspense builds quickly as the scenes repeatedly switch from Jamie on his morning paper route to the abductors in their car. The foreshadowing builds and our worst fears are confirmed when Jamie's bike meets the grill of the car.

Levien's technique of multiple view-points and short tense scenes, which one might attribute to his screen-writing expertise, heighten the on-going suspense and parallel the urgency of a missing child situation.

He gives us a story that offers more than a fast-moving crime plot. It is also a tale of losses - the loss of a child, the loss of innocence, the loss of the parent'...

Coming Soon: Where The Dead Lay (USA - July 2009): After the sinister disappearance of two highly-paid detectives, Frank Behr is pulled into his darkest, most relentless case.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Summer Before the War
    by Helen Simonson
    Set on the cusp of World War I, The Summer Before the War exudes strength and spirit as a small town...
  • Book Jacket: Lincoln in the Bardo
    Lincoln in the Bardo
    by George Saunders
    George Saunders' Lincoln in the Bardo is a philosophy discourse brilliantly disguised as a ...
  • Book Jacket
    Tender
    by Belinda McKeon
    Most of us have heard the slightly trite saying: "If you love something, set it free." But one can ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Sellout
by Paul Beatty

The first book by an American author to win the prestigious Man Booker Prize.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    I See You
    by Clare Mackintosh

    A dark and compelling thriller about an everyday woman trapped in the confines of her everyday world.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Caught in the Revolution
    by Helen Rappaport

    A masterful retelling of the Russian Revolution from the author of The Romanov Sisters.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

Finishing second in the Olympics gets you silver. Finishing second in politics gets you oblivion.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Your F C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.