BookBrowse Reviews Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance by Gyles Brandreth

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance

by Gyles Brandreth

Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2008, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2008, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Vy Armour

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Lovers of historical mystery will relish this chilling Victorian tale based on real events and cloaked in authenticity

Oscar Wilde once said, "There is nothing quite like an unexpected death for lifting the spirits." And there is nothing quite like a good mystery when the amateur sleuth is Oscar Wilde himself. If you are a fan of Doyle's Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson, you will certainly devour this new series written in the same fashion, with Richard Sherard (Wilde's real-life friend and biographer) playing the Watson role.

When Billy Wood, a young artist's male model, is found murdered, it appears to be "a death of no importance", but because of Oscar's sharp deductive and reasoning skills, it becomes quite important to a number of prominent British citizens. As readers romp through Victorian England in this witty and intelligent mystery they will enjoy many twists of plot and a wide range of characters from the most celebrated to society's outcasts, from the Prince of Wales ...

Gyles Brandreth is a prominent BBC broadcaster, theater producer, novelist and biographer. He has written best-selling biographies of Britain's royal family (Phillip & Elizabeth: Portrait of a Marriage, Charles & Camilla: Portrait of a Love Affair and an acclaimed diary of his years as a Member of Parliament. (Breaking the Code Westminster Diaries).

At age thirteen (1961) he was given the Complete Works of Oscar Wilde and read all 1,118 pages. The first non-fiction book he ever read was the full account of the trials of Oscar Wilde. Also as a young boy in England, Brandreth was an avid fan of the adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle. When he was ten, the family moved to Baker Street and from his kitchen window he could see what he believed to be the famed 221B. He read every one of the Sherlock Homes stories. At age thirteen he wrote a school play,...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.