BookBrowse Reviews Talking Hands by Margalit Fox

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Talking Hands

What Sign Language Reveals About the Mind

by Margalit Fox

Talking Hands by Margalit Fox
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2007, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2008, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lee Gooden

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Talking Hands will captivate anyone interested in language, the human mind and journeys to exotic places

On a page after the Table of Contents, without any other text, Fox includes the following quote, from Ludwig Wittgenstein's Philosophical Investigations*, "To imagine a language means to imagine a form of life."

Entering my twentieth year as one who works with people with developmental disabilities I can personally attest to the truth of this quote. Although not professionally trained in sign language, over the years I have learned to distinguish and use signs that are appropriate to the situation (just as children growing up in the hearing world learn that there are some words that they use among their friends and others to their parents). Because of my background, I initially approached Talking Hands as a reference book that would improve my own job performance. I am ashamed to admit that I opened the book with a degree of pomposity, thinking that after two decades I knew it all; but I found Talking Hands to be an exhilarating and humbling experience, showing my sign language skills, not to mention my knowledge of other languages (including English) to be insignificant in comparison to Fox and her fellow linguistic colleagues.

Talking Hands, which alternates chapters on specific aspects of linguistics and sign language with chapters set in an isolated Bedouin village with its own unique form of sign language, is a fascinating read for linguists and lay readers alike.

The interleaved chapters on specific aspects of linguistics are vital to the structure of the overall narrative and provide necessary clarification, although some readers may find themselves skipping through a few parts. When writing about the Bedouin village of Al-Sayyid (Al-Sayyid’s location remains a secret and the names of its occupants have been changed to protect the villagers' anonymity) Fox's writing is both accessible and poetic. It is easy for the reader to share her excitement when she describes the receptiveness of the villagers to outsiders and their ready acceptance of the linguistics team's much repeated tests.

*Philosophical Investigations, Austrian philosopher Ludwig Wittgenstein's classic on the philosophies of the mind, language and meaning, was first published in 1953.

Guest review by Lee Gooden.

Reviewed by Lee Gooden

This review was originally published in September 2007, and has been updated for the August 2008 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Graybar Hotel
    The Graybar Hotel
    by Curtis Dawkins
    We – those of us on the outside – are lucky. So very lucky. We get to experience life &#...
  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.