Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

BookBrowse Reviews Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures by Vincent Lam

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures

Stories

by Vincent Lam

Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures by Vincent Lam X
Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures by Vincent Lam
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2007, 362 pages

    Paperback:
    Sep 2008, 362 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A formidable debut - a profound and unforgettable depiction of today’s doctors, patients, and hospitals

Lam's first book, a collection of interconnected short stories, opens with "How To Get Into Medical School, Part 1, a story which at first glance treads familiar territory - an Asian girl of first generation immigrant parents finds herself torn between her budding love for fellow medical student Fitz (an unsuitable boy by dint of him not being Asian) and her drive to succeed at the highest level as a medical student.

But, just as one is being lulled into thinking that immigrant assimilation and angst with a topping of young love is to be the order of the day, the story takes a subtle twist that causes the reader to sit up and take note. The following three stories follow a small group of medical students through their training, each story building on the last, providing new facets to what has come before. The next four stories change perspective and location, taking one of the young doctors to Brisbane, Australia to care for his dying grandfather, and then turning the tables to tell stories from the perspective of the patient. The collection reaches its most urgent and visceral in the final third of the book with superficially simple stories that seem to cut to the very quick of humanity.

Readers will find Lam's stories far more grounded in reality than the sensationalized medical dramas served up all too frequently on TV - perhaps because Lam is not only an emergency room doctor himself but also does not own a TV! Although three of the four doctors who star in his stories are of Asian descent, ethnicity has only a peripheral role to play. Center stage are the small moral dilemmas faced by emergency room doctors every day, and the tension caused by facing a life and death decision in one room, and walking out to potentially face another in the next.

The one irritating element in this otherwise excellent collection is an excessively comprehensive 10-page glossary at the back of the book providing definitions of medical terms, including challenging words such as 'abdomen', 'amnesia' and 'antidote' (to name just three of the A's). Not only are many of the words in the glossary ridiculously simple but even those terms that might be unknown to readers can be sufficiently understood in context as to make the glossary excess to requirements. Ironically, the only time the glossary was referenced by this reviewer was to look up the meaning of 'omentum', which should have been placed between 'neuron' and 'pacemaker' in the glossary, but was not included! To add insult to injury the glossary is prefaced by a disclaimer stating that it is "believed to be accurate [but] is not a medical dictionary".

You can read the complete text of the first story, "How To Get Into Medical School, Part I", by clicking the "Browse" link below. To the best of our knowledge, this story is available online only at BookBrowse. The second story, "Take All of Murphy", is available at the author's website.

"I wanted to write about the way in which a person changes as they become a physician - how their world view shifts, and how they become a slightly different version of themselves in the process of becoming a doctor. I wanted to write about the reality that doing good and trying to help others is not simple. It is ethically complicated and sometimes involves a reality that can only be expressed by telling a story."
- Vincent Lam.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in September 2007, and has been updated for the September 2008 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures, try these:

  • Internal Medicine jacket

    Internal Medicine

    by Terrence Holt

    Published 2015

    About this book

    More by this author

    Out of the crucible of medical training, award-winning writer Terrence Holt shapes this stunning account of residency, the years-long ordeal in which doctors are made.

  • The Best Care Possible jacket

    The Best Care Possible

    by Ira Byock

    Published 2013

    About this book

    A palliative care doctor on the front lines of hospital care illuminates one of the most important and controversial ethical issues of our time on his quest to transform care through the end of life.

We have 7 read-alikes for Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Vincent Lam
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    by Briony Cameron
    Our titular heroine's story begins in Yáquimo, Santo Domingo. Jacquotte Delahaye is a young ...
  • Book Jacket: Another Word for Love
    Another Word for Love
    by Carvell Wallace
    "I write about beautiful things because I live in a country that has tried to kill me and every...
  • Book Jacket
    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson
    Michelle Collins Anderson's novel The Flower Sisters, based in part on a real tragedy that occurred ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Win This Book
Win The Bluestockings

The Bluestockings by Susannah Gibson

An illuminating group portrait of the eighteenth-century women who dared to imagine an active life for themselves in both mind and spirit.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.