BookBrowse Reviews The Chess Machine by Robert Lohr

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Chess Machine

A Novel

by Robert Lohr

The Chess Machine by Robert Lohr
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jul 2007, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2008, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An historical adventure based on the true story of a legendary invention

It is estimated that 300 million TV viewers watched Garry Kasparov lose to IBM's Deep Blue in 1997*. The audience was a lot smaller when Wolfgang von Kempelen unveiled his Mechanical Turk to The Empress Maria Theresia and her court in 1770, but they were no less surprised to witness a machine beat a man at chess. Little did they know that the Turk was a very clever fraud, one of the most elaborate hoaxes in history.

Although a fair amount is known about the life of Wolfgang von Kempelen, nothing is known about the chess player(s) who hid inside the machine, so Lohr has liberally played with the known facts to create the central character of Tibor, a deeply religious and honest dwarf who, through circumstances beyond his control finds himself in league with Kempelen and on a slippery slope to defraud the high and mighty of Europe.

Robert Lohr's attention to detail when describing the sights, sounds and science of 18th century Vienna and Pressburg (modern day Bratislava, capital of Slovakia) is excellent. However, there were one or two tiny slips that this reviewer (who is no expert on the period) spotted. For example, when the Mechanical Turk is first introduced to us through the eyes of Tibor, the author refers to the Turk's eyes hanging on two strings like useless optic nerves. This is such an incongruous detail (considering that a basic understanding of the nervous system did not develop for another 100 years) that it caused this reader to read on from that point with considerably more circumspection than before.

Although the pacing is slow at times and some parts could have been trimmed without loss to the main flow, there is much to enjoy in The Chess Machine. We experience moments of high drama and humor, sometimes on the same page; swordfights and court intrigues; plus a growing connection with and concern for the big hearted man inside the little body who has only his faith to hang on to as he is drawn further and further into Kempelen's deception and delusions of grandeur.

*Kasparov vs. Deep Blue: Former World Chess Champion Garry Kasparov defeated IBM's Deep Thought easily in 1989. Seven years later, a new improved computer, Deep Blue, won the first of six games against Kasparov but Kasparov fought back to win overall with three wins and two draws.

A year later, in May 1997, Kasparov took on an enhanced Deep Blue in a six game match; Deep Blue won with two wins to one against, with 3 draws. After the loss, Kasparov said that he saw signs of deep intelligence and creativity in the machine's moves, indicating human intervention during the match. IBM denied any intervention during the games so Kasparov requested printouts of the machine's logs, which IBM refused to provide at the time (they were later published on the web). Kasparov demanded a rematch but IBM declined and retired Deep Blue.

This review was originally published in August 2007, and has been updated for the September 2008 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.