BookBrowse Reviews Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Out Stealing Horses

A Novel

by Per Petterson

Out Stealing Horses
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2007, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2008, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Subtle prose and profound vision combine in an unforgettable novel - an achingly good read

A bestseller in Norway and Germany and the winner of the Irish IMPAC award*, Out Stealing Horses was published in the USA in hardcover last year, and in paperback a couple of weeks ago. Set in the East of Norway on the border of Sweden (map of Norway), the story opens in 1999 with 67-year-old Trond Sanders recently settled into a broken-down cabin a long way from any city, where he plans to live out his days. Then, a meeting with his only neighbor, who he believes he recognizes from long ago, triggers memories of the fateful July of 1948, when he was 15 years-old and spent the summer with his father in a cabin not dissimilar to the one in which he now lives. He remembers the long summer days spent adventuring with a neighboring boy, Jon and, in ...

Per Petterson was born in Oslo to a working-class family. He has worked as a manual laborer, is trained as a librarian, spent twelve years as a bookseller, and was a translator and literary critic before becoming a full-time writer. Out Stealing Horses is translated from the Norwegian by poet, critic and historian, Anne Born, who has translated many works from the principal Scandinavian languages into English, including two previous novels by Petterson: To Siberia, set in a small Danish town during WWII, and In the Wake, which chronicles the breakdown of a man six years after his parents and brother were killed in a ferry accident (modeled after the 1994 sinking of the MS Estonia when 852 of the 989 people on board were drowned, including ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.