Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Nefertiti by Michelle Moran

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Nefertiti

A Novel

by Michelle Moran

Nefertiti by Michelle Moran X
Nefertiti by Michelle Moran
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2007, 480 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2008, 496 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Love, betrayal, political unrest, plague, and religious conflict—Nefertiti brings ancient Egypt to life in vivid detail. 1st Novel

Michelle Moran's love affair with Egypt began in the summer of 1998 while on an archaeological dig in Israel. The team she was working with uncovered an ancient Egyptian scarab (scarab beetles were sacred in ancient Egypt, and ceramic, stone or cut gem scarabs were used as talismans and a symbol of the soul). The site of this mysterious lapis stone in the dirt triggered a yearning to discover more about ancient Egypt.

Not long after she was wandering through the Egyptian museum in Berlin when she came across the famous bust of Nefertiti (discovered in 1912) and she began to wonder what this famous queen's life would have been like. She found considerable nonfiction written about Nefertiti but could find no fictionalized accounts exclusively about her reign.

Two years later, spurred on by Nefertiti's story she visited Egypt and started gathering books and data which would form the basis of her fictionalized account of Nefertiti's life.

While the key players and many of the events in Nefertiti are a matter of historical record, such as Akhenaten's obsession with the sun-god Aten and his desire to build a divinely inspired city that would eclipse Thebes; how the key players thought and acted, and many of the details are necessarily conjecture.

Although the accuracy of some aspects of the big picture are questionable, it's the little details about everyday and royal life that bring Nefertiti to live, such as the "Nubian" wigs worn by the royal family (big afro hairdos) which were held in place with bees wax and resin, and that the Pharaoh's sandals had pictures of his enemies on the bottom - so that he stepped on them wherever he walked!

In short, this is an addictively engrossing epic that brings to life a fascinating time and place - a good choice for book clubs and lovers of historical fiction.

Coming Soon: The Heretic Queen, a sequel to Nefertiti, publishing is September 2008.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in July 2007, and has been updated for the June 2008 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Nefertiti, try these:

  • Circling the Sun jacket

    Circling the Sun

    by Paula McLain

    Published 2016

    About this book

    More by this author

    The extraordinary adventures of a woman before her time, the exhilaration of freedom and its cost, and the tenacity of the human spirit.

  • The Rise and Fall of Ancient Egypt jacket

    The Rise and Fall of Ancient Egypt

    by Toby Wilkinson

    Published 2013

    About this book

    More by this author

    In this landmark work, one of the world’s most renowned Egyptologists tells the epic story of this great civilization, from its birth as the first nation-state to its final absorption into the Roman Empire—three thousand years of wild drama, bold spectacle, and unforgettable characters.

We have 11 read-alikes for Nefertiti, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Michelle Moran
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Women and Children First
    Women and Children First
    by Alina Grabowski
    After Lucy Anderson falls to her death at a high school party, no one in Nashquitten, her gloomy, ...
  • Book Jacket: Henry Henry
    Henry Henry
    by Allen Bratton
    Allen Bratton's Henry Henry chronicles a year in the life of Hal Lancaster. Readers already ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.