We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos by Robin L. LaFevers

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos

by Robin L. LaFevers

Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos by Robin L. LaFevers X
Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos by Robin L. LaFevers
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2007, 343 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2008, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Nancy Drew meets Indiana Jones in the first of a new series set in 1906 London and Egypt. Ages 11+

There is much in Ancient Egyptian history to fascinate young minds, from the mysteries of hieroglyphs to the Egyptian pantheon of glamorous deities, not forgetting the tombs and pyramids - and who better to explore them with than plucky Theodosia Throckmorton, an 11-year-old version of Elizabeth Peter's indomitable Amelia Peabody, except that Amelia can command attention with her trusty sharpened parasol and the authority of adulthood, whereas nobody takes Theo seriously, especially not her parents. Theo's father runs a museum of antiquities in Edwardian London (early 1900s, 1906 to be exact), while her American mother gallivants around Egypt uncovering new treasures for the museum in the Valley of the Kings and elsewhere. On the outside, Theo is opinionated and confident, but on the inside she wishes her parents could find a little more time for her; her father's always busy in the museum, her mother's usually abroad, her brother's at boarding school, and her grandmother believes young girls should be seen and not heard.

So she spends her days (quite happily, mind you) exploring the nooks and crannies of the museum, reading ancient Egyptian hieroglyphics as easily as you or I might read the daily newspaper, sleeping in a sarcophagus (comfortable and free of drafts) and surreptitiously neutralizing the many cursed objects that her oblivious mother brings back from her expeditions.

All this changes when Theo uncovers a dastardly German plot to undermine Britain involving cursed objects, which leads her to a secret society of adults who not only believe her story but, because of her special abilities to see cursed objects for what they are, say that she is the only one who can save the British Empire from certain doom. With the help of a savvy street urchin and her brother, who's actually a lot more use than she ever credited him to be, she smuggles herself on board a ship bound for Egypt in the hope of averting disaster and, perhaps, doing something sufficiently important and heroic that her parents will take notice of her.

From an adult perspective the plot's credibility stretches a little too thin on occasions but, putting this minor quibble aside, Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos is an exciting start to a new series that blends well researched historical detail with just a touch of fantasy. Children aged about eleven years and up will root for Theodosia and enjoy the action and the gritty details of how to recognize and remove curses (every detail of Theodosia's curse removing kit is lovingly explained).

Fans of this first volume don't have to wait too long for the next - Theodosia and the Staff of Osiris publishes in November 2008.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in June 2007, and has been updated for the June 2008 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos, try these:

We have 6 read-alikes for Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Robin LaFevers
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...
  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.