BookBrowse Reviews The Berlin Wall by Frederick Taylor

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Berlin Wall

A World Divided, 1961-1989

by Frederick Taylor

The Berlin Wall
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2007, 512 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2008, 528 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A comprehensive account of a divided city and its people in a time when the world seemed to stand permanently on the edge of destruction

By 1958 nearly 3 million East Germans, many of them young and educated, had fled to the West through the porous border between East and West Berlin that allowed people to cross in and out of the zones for work. This left about 17 million in East Germany with a further 200,000+ leaving every year. East Germany was facing an implosion if the exodus was not stopped - hence the construction of the Berlin Wall.

According to Frederick Taylor, although the Wall was instigated and constructed by the East Germans, the "leaders of the free world" at the time (Kennedy, Macmillan and de Gaulle) were not agin the construction of a physical barrier to constrict the outflow of people from East Germany that threatened to destabilize the country, which in turn could ...

Did you know?
After the Berlin Wall came down, the government of the soon-to-be-former German Democratic Republic auctioned it off piece by piece. If you feel so inclined you can buy a piece with a certificate of authenticity anytime you want at eBay and elsewhere. Having pulled The Wall down, a few short sections were restored by popular demand and now form an often visited tourist attraction.


About the Author
Frederick Taylor was educated at Aylesbury Grammar School; Oxford University, where he read History and Modern Languages; and Sussex University, where he did postgraduate work specializing in the rise of the extreme Right in Germany during the early twentieth century. He is the author of a number of novels set in...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.