BookBrowse Reviews Warm Springs by Susan Richards Shreve

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Warm Springs

Traces of a Childhood at FDR's Polio Haven

by Susan Richards Shreve

Warm Springs by Susan Richards Shreve X
Warm Springs by Susan Richards Shreve
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2007, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2008, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A rich and moving memoir of childhood illness and its aftermath by a member of the last generation of Americans to have experienced childhood polio

Shreve, who contracted polio when she was a year-old, spent the first 11 years of her life trying to fit into "normal" life, walking with a brace and failing deportment classes at the local elementary school. So she was thrilled to arrive at a place where crippled children were considered ordinary - only to find herself insufficiently debilitated to be considered normal there either!

For many decades after Shreve's father collected her from Warm Springs, having been ask to remove his 13-year-old daughter with immediate effect as she was a "danger" to the other children, Shreve never thought to look back on her time at the center. This changed a few years ago when she and her husband struck up a conversation with two scientists who were examining the relationship between the AIDS and polio viruses. It struck Shreve that both diseases carried a moral stain - in the case of AIDS the shame is sexual, with polio it was social, based on the false belief that the virus struck only the filthy houses of the urban poor.

This conversation triggered her to begin a circuitous route back to the years she had spent at Warm Springs and the downhill wheelchair race that she had instigated between her and her first love, Joey Buckley, that had caused her to be removed "pronto" from the establishment.

She read about the history of polio and FDR's contribution to Warm Springs and the irradiation of polio. She read about the "silent generation" of the 1950s and thought about the shame of illness and the character-defining frustration of a child locked in a paralyzed body who feels responsible for changing the family's daily life. As she thought all this she remembered the fateful race with Joey and began to think, "What it had meant to live in a village of cripples, to travel the distance between childhood and adulthood for that short time by myself discovering the lure of religion and romantic movies and the danger of sexuality lurking in the embryo of adolescence".

The result is Warm Springs. Shreve spins a delicate web of memoir in which polio takes a back seat to a powerful coming of age story in which a 13-year-old girl trapped in a body inadequate for her ambitious energies hits adolescent rebellion at full speed, experiences her first crush, undergoes surgeries and rehabilitation and tries terribly hard to become the "good girl" people want her to be. It is a riveting, raw, miscellany of memories from a bygone era that seems much longer ago than it is - a snapshot of a time and place, and the challenge of living with pain, guilt and loneliness.

The History of Warm Springs & Franklin D Roosevelt
In 1924, FDR (who contracted polio in 1921) received a letter from a friend of his, George Foster Peabody, informing him that a young polio sufferer seemed to have recovered his ability to walk by swimming in the buoyant waters of a Georgia resort called Warm Springs. Peabody, a wealthy banker and co-owner of the resort, suggested that FDR should visit, which he did shortly after. Roosevelt was delighted by the warmth and buoyancy of the pool which supported his weight and enabled him to stand and practice walking. In 1926, FDR announced that he had decided to buy Warm Springs and turn it into a center for the hydrotherapeutic treatment of polio victims. He invested nearly $200,000 in the foundation (roughly 2/3rds of his private fortune) and for two years served as its director and unofficial physiotherapist. To the growing numbers of patients that began to arrive at the center, he became the affable and sympathetic "Dr. Roosevelt"—a role in which he took great pleasure.

In 1928 he was persuaded to run for governor of New York. Initially reluctant to leave the rewarding work at Warm Springs he was eventually persuaded to enter the race and was elected. Four years later, in 1932, he was elected President - the first of four terms he would serve. As World War II drew to a close his health deteriorated. On April 12, 1945 he died of a cerebral hemorrhage at Warm Springs.

The center still exists as the Roosevelt Warm Springs Institute for Rehabilitation. Its mission is to empower individuals with disabilities to achieve personal independence.

This review was originally published in July 2007, and has been updated for the June 2008 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

A masterpiece of storytelling, and a 2018 Oprah's Book Club Selection.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.