Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Tales from the Torrid Zone by Alexander Frater

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Tales from the Torrid Zone

Travels in the Deep Tropics

by Alexander Frater

Tales from the Torrid Zone by Alexander Frater X
Tales from the Torrid Zone by Alexander Frater
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2007, 400 pages

    Paperback:
    Feb 2008, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An enjoyable travelogue from the deep tropics

Tales from the Torrid Zone follows what has become the standard formula for travel books - interesting facts, mixed with humorous anecdotes and a smattering of autobiography. Frater makes for a genial companion, and the book is a reflection of the zone it describes. It is a book that languishes, gently and seemingly aimlessly, in awe of each place as it wanders from one tropical destination to another; sometimes fascinating, sometimes unexpected, sometimes rather slow. As Frater himself says, "Sometimes, I imagine a mildly narcotic vapor drifts across the Torrid Zone...it causes a kind of stupefaction in its victims". The reader can imagine the book being written in a warm, humid climate with the heat sapping the writer's energy so that nothing moves too quickly and both writer and reader can luxuriate in the present while reminiscing about the past.

There is no doubt that this part-memoir, part-travelogue is fascinating. It is filled with a wealth of scientific, sociological, geographical and linguistical facts, plus an astounding mix of characters and events. Wherever Frater sets foot there is something to see, and something to learn; his keen eye for detail and refreshing objectivity brings it all to life. He does not glamorize the tropics, nor trivialize them; he points out the good points (idyllic tropical islands) as well as the bad (tropical diseases, poverty, corruption, and ecological disasters such as uncontrolled logging) without sermonizing. In short, he tells it as he sees it, and the book is better for that.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in May 2007, and has been updated for the February 2008 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Tropics

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Tales from the Torrid Zone, try these:

  • Overbooked jacket

    Overbooked

    by Elizabeth Becker

    Published 2016

    About this book

    Elizabeth Becker investigates global travel industry practices in an eye-opening examination of this $6.5 trillion phenomenon.

  • The Last Unicorn jacket

    The Last Unicorn

    by William deBuys

    Published 2015

    About this book

    An award-winning author's stirring quest to find and understand an elusive and exceptionally rare species in the heart of Southeast Asia's jungles.

We have 9 read-alikes for Tales from the Torrid Zone, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Song of the Six Realms
    Song of the Six Realms
    by Judy I. Lin
    Xue'er has no place in the kingdom of Qi or any of the Six Realms. Her name means "Solitary Snow" ...
  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...
  • Book Jacket: Daughters of Shandong
    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung
    Daughters of Shandong is the debut novel of Eve J. Chung, a human rights lawyer living in New York. ...
  • Book Jacket: Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    by Xochitl Gonzalez
    Brooklyn-based novelist Xochitl Gonzalez is an inspiring writer to follow. At forty, she decided to ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Only the Beautiful
by Susan Meissner
A heartrending story about a young mother’s fight to keep her daughter, and the terrible injustice that tears them apart.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.