BookBrowse Reviews Tales from the Torrid Zone by Alexander Frater

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Tales from the Torrid Zone

Travels in the Deep Tropics

by Alexander Frater

Tales from the Torrid Zone by Alexander Frater X
Tales from the Torrid Zone by Alexander Frater
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2007, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2008, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An enjoyable travelogue from the deep tropics

Tales from the Torrid Zone follows what has become the standard formula for travel books - interesting facts, mixed with humorous anecdotes and a smattering of autobiography. Frater makes for a genial companion, and the book is a reflection of the zone it describes. It is a book that languishes, gently and seemingly aimlessly, in awe of each place as it wanders from one tropical destination to another; sometimes fascinating, sometimes unexpected, sometimes rather slow. As Frater himself says, "Sometimes, I imagine a mildly narcotic vapor drifts across the Torrid Zone...it causes a kind of stupefaction in its victims". The reader can imagine the book being written in a warm, humid climate with the heat sapping the writer's energy so that nothing moves too quickly and both writer and reader can luxuriate in the present while reminiscing about the past.

There is no doubt that this part-memoir, part-travelogue is fascinating. It is filled with a wealth of scientific, sociological, geographical and linguistical facts, plus an astounding mix of characters and events. Wherever Frater sets foot there is something to see, and something to learn; his keen eye for detail and refreshing objectivity brings it all to life. He does not glamorize the tropics, nor trivialize them; he points out the good points (idyllic tropical islands) as well as the bad (tropical diseases, poverty, corruption, and ecological disasters such as uncontrolled logging) without sermonizing. In short, he tells it as he sees it, and the book is better for that.

This review was originally published in May 2007, and has been updated for the February 2008 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.