Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

A Year of Food Life

by Barbara Kingsolver

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver X
Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2007, 384 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2008, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Makes a passionate case for putting the kitchen back at the center of family life and diversified farms at the center of the American diet.

The book market is becoming filled with tomes advising us how to save our planet (or more accurately, keep it habitable for humanity). Some of these 'green reads' are earnest, some are epicurean, all beat the environmental drum, and most will only be read by those already leaning towards that way of thinking. Animal, Vegetable, Miracle stands out from the crowd because it is a book that has the ability to appeal to the crowd. It is to food as Bill Bryson's books are to travel - accessible and appealing to a far wider audience than most of its genre. With input from her biologist husband, Steven (who provides footnotes relating to the food industry) and 19-year-old daughter, Camille (who provides tasty recipes and the voice of a younger generation) Barbara Kingsolver chronicles a year in which her family lived as close to the land as they could - buying locally grown foods or growing it themselves, while also maintaining their day jobs.

The result is an honest to goodness, often laugh-out-loud funny read which evangelizes without proselytizing, educates and inspires without berating. The reports of 9-year-old Lily's egg business, and the reproductive habits of turkeys who've forgotten how to reproduce naturally after generations of artificial insemination and incubators, are particularly entertaining.

Having said that, not all reviewers are inspired. Negative reviews come from those who feel that Kingsolver is promoting a la-la land idyll that isn't sustainable by real people on real budgets. These reviewers point to the fact that organic foods bought in the supermarket are almost always substantially more expensive than conventionally grown foods, and they get positively apoplectic about Kingsolver and her husband swanning off to Italy in a carbon-emitting jet propelled airplane for a two-week second honeymoon in the middle of their "locavore" year.

Admittedly, the international vacation is something of a red rag to a bull but Kingsolver is not setting herself up as a saint and the couple's observations of Italian life, where local foods are prized above all, does offer a valuable contrast to the USA, where few supermarket shoppers are interested to know where their food has come from.

However, the reviewers who write-off Animal, Vegetable, Miracle because organic foods in the supermarket are too expensive seem to have substantially missed the point of Kingsolver's book, to the point that it's questionable if they actually read it! First of all, the Kingsolvers were following a local diet, not an organic one! Not once in the year do they buy a bijou package of overpriced organic vegetables from a supermarket. Instead they eschew the supermarket in favor of seeking out locally grown foods usually grown themselves or bought from local farmers' markets - and save money in the process.

Although the family's aim was to buy local not organic, the reality is that much of the food they bought (and all that they produced) was as good as, if not better, than a food labeled 'organic', even though it may not have been labeled as such. This is because many small farms, even if they adhere to organic standards, cannot afford to label themselves organic because of the cost and time involved in paperwork. Added to which, the 'organic label is being tarnished by big industrial farms who hold to the letter of the regulations but not to the spirit. For example, a chicken can be sold as "free range" if the house in which it's confined with 20,000 others has a doorway leading out to a tiny yard, even though that doorway remains shut for much of the chicken's life.

At the end of the day, what could be more important than the food we eat? On average, US consumers spend a lower proportion of their income on food than people from any other country and less than any previous generation. Kingsolver makes a good case that buying locally grown food is not just for the rich elite. Her calculations of buying food locally add up to substantial savings for her family during the year, and that is without factoring in the hidden costs in the form of the subsidies that we pay for conventionally farmed foods (about $80 billion per year, or $725 per household).

Kingsolver is not suggesting that we all abandon the cities to go back to life on the land, but she does illustrate how profoundly out of touch with our roots our culture has become when the ability to solve quadratic equations is prized far higher than the knowledge of how to grow a meal!

About the Author
Barbara Kingsolver is the author of novels such as The Poisonwood Bible, The Bean Trees and Prodigal Summer. She was born in 1955 and grew up "in the middle of an alfalfa field," in the part of eastern Kentucky that lies between the opulent horse farms and the impoverished coal fields. She left Kentucky to attend DePauw University in Indiana, where she majored in biology. She and her family used to live outside Tucson but now live in Southern Appalachia.

"Human manners are wildly inconsistent ... but this one takes the cake: the manner in which we're allowed to steal from future generations, while commanding them not to do that to us, and rolling our eyes at anyone who is tediously PC enough to point this out. The conspicuous consumption of limited resources has yet be accepted widely as a spiritual error, or even bad manners." - Barbara Kingsolver.


Useful Links
Animalvegetablemiracle.com with plentiful links to additional resources including:

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in May 2007, and has been updated for the May 2008 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, try these:

  • Hungry jacket

    Hungry

    by Jeff Gordinier

    Published 2020

    About this book

    A food critic chronicles four years spent traveling with renowned chef René Redzepi in search of the most tantalizing flavors the world has to offer.

  • This Blessed Earth jacket

    This Blessed Earth

    by Ted Genoways

    Published 2018

    About this book

    Is there still a place for the farm in today's America?

We have 19 read-alikes for Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Barbara Kingsolver
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine CapĂł Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...
  • Book Jacket: Beverly Hills Spy
    Beverly Hills Spy
    by Ronald Drabkin
    When it comes to espionage, not only is truth stranger than fiction, sometimes it can be downright ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
A Great Country
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
A novel exploring the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Who Said...

Good as it is to inherit a library, it is better to collect one.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.