BookBrowse Reviews The Summer of 1787 by David O. Stewart

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Summer of 1787

The Men Who Invented the Constitution

by David O. Stewart

The Summer of 1787
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2007, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2008, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Takes us into the sweltering room where delegates struggled for four months to produce the flawed but enduring document that would define the nation - then and now

Widely compared to Catherine Drinker Bowen's Miracle at Philadelphia (1966), considered by many to be the classic work on the American constitution, The Summer of 1787's fly-on-the-wall narrative style stands up to the comparison in the opinion of most reviewers.

Like Bowen, Stewart focuses solely on the four summer months during which the bulk of the Constitution was framed and does not cover the State ratification process or the first Federal Congress, which established a number of elements including The Bill of Rights. A couple of reviewers point to this as a limitation of The Summer of 1787, but this reviewer thinks that Stewart is right to focus on just these four sweltering months.

The Summer of 1787
is ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.