BookBrowse Reviews The Summer of 1787 by David O. Stewart

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Summer of 1787

The Men Who Invented the Constitution

by David O. Stewart

The Summer of 1787 by David O. Stewart
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2007, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2008, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Takes us into the sweltering room where delegates struggled for four months to produce the flawed but enduring document that would define the nation - then and now

Widely compared to Catherine Drinker Bowen's Miracle at Philadelphia (1966), considered by many to be the classic work on the American constitution, The Summer of 1787's fly-on-the-wall narrative style stands up to the comparison in the opinion of most reviewers.

Like Bowen, Stewart focuses solely on the four summer months during which the bulk of the Constitution was framed and does not cover the State ratification process or the first Federal Congress, which established a number of elements including The Bill of Rights. A couple of reviewers point to this as a limitation of The Summer of 1787, but this reviewer thinks that Stewart is right to focus on just these four sweltering months.

The Summer of 1787
is analogous to to the closed world of a "country house mystery", if the author had broken out of the confines of this narrow place and time in the final chapters to cover the ratification and amendment process, not only would the book be in danger of losing its narrative power but the question would be when to stop? After all, the Constitution is a living, breathing document that has been amended twenty-seven times to date and has withstood somewhere in the region of 10,000 proposed amendments. The full story of the Constitution could (and hopefully will) run and run for a long time to come, so focusing on just those first four months seems admirably sensible!

Like James L Swanson's Manhunt, Stewart's emphasis is on the day to day narrative, not on analysis. He covers the Constitutional Convention in chronological order, grouping particular events and stages into individual chapters. What clearly comes across is the enormity of the task faced by 55 men of diverse opinion and ability to find common ground for 13 states, each with their own vested interests already established in the flawed Articles of Confederation. We see the tensions and difficult compromises, such as slavery and the three-fifths rule; the acute minds offering clarity, but also the more obtuse or just plain belligerent countering with confusion.

What comes across most clearly is that the Constitution is not a set-in-stone document handed down to us by a group of demigods, but a framework created by men who, through usually thoughtful but necessarily rushed debate, found a compromise acceptable to the majority. The creation, contents and ratification of this imperfect but surprisingly durable "child of lofty idealism and rough political bargains" was far from a foregone conclusion; and, by extension, it's continuation should never be taken for granted either. The Constitution needs to be read, questioned, defended and amended as necessary for as long as Americans wish to live as a democracy.

This review was originally published in May 2007, and has been updated for the May 2008 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...
  • Book Jacket
    News of the World
    by Paulette Jiles
    Paulette Jiles brings the landscape of late 19th century Texas to life in this novel long-listed for...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.