BookBrowse Reviews Boomsday by Christopher Buckley

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Boomsday

A Novel

by Christopher Buckley

Boomsday by Christopher Buckley X
Boomsday by Christopher Buckley
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2007, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2008, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A biting political comedy by the author of Thank You For Smoking

After a slightly slow start during which Buckley introduces his characters, provides them with motive and generally lays the groundwork, Boomsday develops into a mischievously farcical tangled-web of generational warfare and political backstabbing, set against the background of the failing Social Security system and the general collapse of the American economy.

At the center of Buckley's large cast of mostly rotten to the core characters is 29-year-old Cassandra - fervent blogger by night, cynical spin-doctor by day. Supporting roles are played by her father, who squandered her college fund to finance his now obscenely successful Silicon Valley startup; WASP playboy Randy, who finds purpose in his cocaine-addled life by going into politics and is now gunning for president; a French-Catholic Bishop in good favor with the Vatican due to his ability to smooth-talk wealthy widows; and an ardent pro-lifer who "carries his own bully pulpit" wherever he goes.

Making up the chorus line are "the masses", the Boomer generation who think that "three-day ground instead of overnight air delivery on your fifty inch plasma screen high-def TV." is the definition of sacrifice; and their younger counterparts, Generation Whatever. All are brought into play by Cassandra's late night blog entry (reminiscent of Swift's Modest Proposal) in which she suggests, tongue in cheek, that all those over 70 years should be given the incentive to "voluntarily transition"; and if they go at 65 they'll get a two-week all expenses paid farewell thrown in as an added bonus.

One reviewer opines that a novel built around the premise that Social Security becomes the key issue in a Presidential race stretches credibility too far as "the idea that such a movement could be a hot-button issue in a presidential race is so silly that Boomsday's momentum begins to dissipate before the midway point."

What a sad reflection that is on our political process! Granted, at the moment the majority of the Western world seem to have their collective heads in the sand about the state of their respective country's social security systems, but it seems all too plausible that this will change when the long predicted day actually arrives when the current system reaches breaking point - requiring either a substantial increase in Social Security payments by the 2-3 workers supporting each retiree, or substantially reduced payments to retirees, or both! A date that will come some time after 2008, when the Baby Boomer generation starts to retire.

Did you know?
The first person to receive monthly social security benefits was Ida May Fuller from Vermont, who retired in November 1939 and started collecting benefits in January 1940 at age 65. In the three years that Fuller worked under the program, she contributed a total of $24.75. Her first benefit check was for $22.54 and she went on collecting benefits for 35 years, until 1975, when she died at age 100 having collected over $22,000.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in April 2007, and has been updated for the June 2008 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: My Heart Underwater
    My Heart Underwater
    by Laurel Fantauzzo
    Corazon — Cory — Tagubio is a Filipina-American teenager living with her family in ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Sun
    Black Sun
    by Rebecca Roanhorse
    Reading the first book in a series is always difficult because readers know that, by definition, it ...
  • Book Jacket: Somewhere in the Unknown World
    Somewhere in the Unknown World
    by Kao Kalia Yang
    Resettled refugees are mostly invisible. Their needs are rarely publicized and their struggles are ...
  • Book Jacket: The Orchard
    The Orchard
    by David Hopen
    The protagonist of David Hopen's first novel, The Orchard, is 17-year-old Aryeh Eden, a Brooklyn boy...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline

The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter


Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.