BookBrowse Reviews Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Skulduggery Pleasant

by Derek Landy

Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy X
Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2007, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2008, 416 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A satisfying blend of humor, magic and adventure for ages 12+

Although suggested for readers aged 12-15 years-old, Skulduggery Pleasant is likely to be enjoyed by many younger readers from about 9 years up. We read it as a family and, from 11 to 47, enjoyed it immensely! From the moment Skulduggery appears the action heats up and drives the reader relentlessly through the book. While comparisons with Harry Potter seem inevitable, this book has more in common with the Artemis Fowl novels - lots of action, snappy dialog and magic.

Despite most of the action taking place in Ireland, the writing has a distinctly English flair. Conversations between the principal characters sparkle with dry wit, sarcasm and understatement. Skulduggery has more than a little James Bond in his character, including a liking for well tailored suits and and a very fine vintage Bentley.

Occasionally some of the plot elements seem a little gratuitous, and there are a few discontinuities. Nevertheless, a good stage has been developed, with much promise for the future. It is to be hoped that Mr. Landy's vivid imagination and amusing writing style will be delivered even more smoothly in the anticipated sequel!

Key Characters

  • Stephanie Edgely, a.k.a. Valkyry Cain: Heroine
  • Skulduggery Pleasant: Snappy dressing skeleton hero with a tortured past.
  • China Sorrows: Who is anything but fragile and rarely sorry.
  • Ghastly Bespoke: Tailor to Skulduggery.
  • Sagacious and Meritorious: Magical elders
  • Mr. Bliss: Who terrifies most people simply by existing.
  • Nafarian Serpine: Evil incarnate.

This review was originally published in April 2007, and has been updated for the March 2008 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.